Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FUEL level indicator..having problems

    Alan,
    Here is what I have in the PH2FUIPC

    [FUEL_CENTERTANK]
    Offset=0B78
    Length=4
    FSType=Proportional
    LoValue=0
    HiValue=4299<-------PMDG737 FULL CENTER TANK

    When I go to calibrate and slide the slider MIN to lets say 3000 gal and then test it by sliding the MAX slider down to the same value the light goes on. Everything ok.
    After I saveand go and change the fuel level to lets say 2900 on the aircraft fuel (cenetr tank only)settings and then go into FS nothing happens.
    Does the above seem right to you? I have tried invert and back again.
    Any tips appreciated.Im out of ideas

    Thanks
    James

  2. #2
    alandyer
    Guest
    James,

    The purpose of the min and max sliders are to set a RANGE for the lights to illuminate (ON state for digital output).

    Therefore, in your example, the LED will illuminate when
    FS Value is BETWEEN 3000 (min) and 3000 (Max).
    i.e. LED will illuminate when LED is exactly 3000.

    If you want light to illuminate when fuel is 3000 or less:
    Set min to 0 and max to 3000.
    The illumination RANGE will be 0 thru 3000.

    If you want light to illuminate when fuel is 3000 and more.
    Set min to 3000 and max to 4299.

    This last example is obviously not a low fuel indication.
    More a heads-up for aircraft fuelers!

    Regards,
    Alan.

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Alan,
    What you have described to me is exactly what I have tried.I dragged the max slider down just to see if it would light when it matched the min and it did.
    I then placed the max slider back .
    My fuel level was changed in FS in my aircraft and was set below the min's and still no light. (center tank only).
    I wonderd if you could try it yourself and see what might be wrong or what am I failing to do.
    I do save and close and reopen both programs just in case anyway.

    One other question..what are the blue indicator bars actually supposed to be telling me? They stop mabe ..halfway .
    Thanks
    Jsmes

  4. #4
    alandyer
    Guest
    Blue portion is when LED will be ON.

  5. #5
    alandyer
    Guest
    Let's get specific.
    What do you have min and max set to as of right now?

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Alan,
    Right now my min is set to 3000 and the blue bar stops at 1000
    My max is 4299 full tank and that blue bar is also at 1000.

    How is the led supposed to light if my min is set to3000 and hasn't reached the blue bar yet?

    Thanks
    James

  7. #7
    alandyer
    Guest
    James,

    Investigated center fuel problem further.

    Step 1:
    I read the FSUIPC documentation.
    Here is what Peter Dowson has to say about offset 0B78.
    "Fuel: centre tank capacity: US Gallons (see also offsets 1244 for extra FS2k/CFS2 fuel tanks)".

    "Tank capacity" is how much the tank holds, not the level.

    Step 2:
    Played around with FS.
    Yes, indeed - that offset is how much tank holds.

    You need to use offset 0B74.
    Quoting from FSUIPC manual
    "Fuel: centre tank level, % * 128 * 65536".

    I played around with current version and 3.0 beta.
    Unfortunately, the following will not work with 2.1
    [CENTER_FUEL_LEVEL]
    Offset=0B74
    Length=4
    FSType=Proportional
    LoValue=0
    HiValue=100
    Multiplier=100.0
    Divisor=8388608.0

    2.1 will only return raw value from FS.
    I'm sure if I played around with FS some more I could tweak Lovalue and Hivalue.

    The blue bar does not work very well with 2.1
    Ignore blue bar.


    If you want to wait until Monday next week I will be releasing 3.0 Beta.
    That does work. I reied it out.

    Nice thing about 3.0. No editing INI file with Notepad, etc.

    [IMG]
    C:\Documents and Settings\alan.FALCON\My Documents\My Pictures\Screenshot.bmp
    [/IMG]

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Alan for looking into this further...I am not one to fold that easy on many things...but this one really had me stumped.
    I did at one time try with that offset with % but still no dice.

    Looking forward to your new release!!

    Alan, I am looking into building a throttle using the 60 sliders for throttle and speedbrake and the encoder for my trim wheel.
    Do you see any problems with these products offered here being used for these puposes?
    Would you recamend something other then these?

    Thanks for you input
    James

  9. #9
    alandyer
    Guest
    James,

    I used sliders for my throttle, reversor, flaps and speed brake.
    Go for longest slider you can lay your hands on.

    60 sliders are 60mm. There are 25.4mm to an inch.
    60mm is just over 2 inches - not much travel.
    Try and get hold of 100mm or 120mm (6 inches).
    www.mouser.com has 120mm ALPS sliders

    When evaluating sliders for flight sims size does matter.

    Not so sure about encoder for trim.

    In my case, I have real B737 throttle.
    My trim wheel is mechanically linked to trim pointer via gears and linkages.
    I use slider attached to trim indicator.
    That way you don't have to get into counting rotations, etc.
    Also means you don't have to get gearing or pulleys to encoder perfect.

    Regards,
    Alan.

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    75
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Alan,
    Is 3.0 Beta almost ready?

    I have been building my 737 throttle and will be testing it this weekend.
    Looking forward to it!

    Regards
    James

Similar Threads

  1. Fuel Flow Problems
    By WayneLaycock in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-24-2008, 07:23 AM
  2. New GC problems with fuel indicator
    By Greg Theulings in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 12:06 PM
  3. Fuel level offset
    By Phil Waecker in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2005, 02:15 PM
  4. GAIFR Fuel Flow Indicator 'pulsating'
    By Martin Gerner in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2004, 03:13 PM