Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Starting engines

    I am building a generic sim. I want to have both prop and jet starters on the same switch (if that is possible). I got it to start a jet engine, but the starter goes on,off,on,off, How do I make it a steady on? It is not the switch, because the phidget value or fs value never changes, but the switch in the game goes on and off.

    I cant figure out how to get a switch to start the prop engines. I can get it to read a value of 1. How do I set it up so it will read an FS value of 4?

    Thanx in advance for any help.

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well, I tried to figure this out on my own. I adjusted the length value for teh starter and all it did was error. I give up. I dont know how to fix this problem I am having. If I cant get this resolved I am goiong to have to scrap the whole project. Because this was the main reason for building my sim, was to have starter switches and stuff. Im to dumb to figure it out on my own.

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Matt?? Alan??


  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    28
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Trying todo the same

    I am also building an engine control section, by which I'd wish to start a dual engine turboprop like the Kingair.
    I'm nearly finished with wiring, I'll let you now as soon I'll be able to perform a test.
    What happened to me in the past is that when I programmed two spare buttons in an USB joystick as Engine Start command, I needed to keep pressing the buttons repeatedly until the engine finished the start cycle.

    Roberto

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    28
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If this may help, the following is a statement I found in Peter Dowson's FSUIPC forum:

    "The starters in FS are "spring-loaded". If you don't keep writing 1 to the starter it will reset to 0. Keep writing 1 with a small delay. Ideally you should have a separate fuel switch and operate that when you seen N2% rise to 20 or 25% (varies with aircraft), but you can (incorrectly) enable the fuel first and it will work. "

    This seems to confirm what I found with a programmed pushbutton: start command seems to require to be repeated to stay ON.
    If there isn't any better solution, I'll take it on the hardware side: I'd make a small pulse generator with a NE555 chip, that would connect to ground cyclically the Phidget input dedicated to "Start" as long as the Start switch is on.

    Roberto

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Is there a way to program a repeat into the ini file?? You can fix pressing teh key multiple times by turning up the repeat slider in the assignments menu. Now that I know that I can work with that for jets. Thanx. what about getting it to start a prop engine??

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    28
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Geoff, tonight I tested the engine start cycle, I used two switches connecting to ground two digital inputs of an 8/8/8 board, and the Start command works, there is no need to repeat the command, Start stays ON as long as the switch is on.
    It works both on a jet and a King Air.
    However, it happens that, when switching Start off, generator is switched off also.
    Any idea why?
    Thank you

    Roberto

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Alan might be able to answer that better than me. I am using a 0/16/16 board and it will not stay on for me. Is engine start commands strictly analog inputs?? Im glad it is working for you.

  9. #9
    alandyer
    Guest
    What kind of switch are you using for start switch ?

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict gokhotit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    314
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    as of right now, for experimental purposes, a on-off toggle. What would be the suggested switch?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 737 engines won't shut off
    By mauriceb in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-10-2014, 09:20 PM
  2. change engines
    By renegade in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-26-2009, 04:10 AM
  3. 6 engines
    By 747sim in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-21-2008, 04:25 PM
  4. Cannot start engines ++
    By RalphW in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-23-2007, 11:07 AM
  5. Two levers, four engines.
    By Gnorfie in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 04:34 PM