Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: autothrottle

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    autothrottle

    i am trying to have the servo controler work in my sim for autothrottles i have gotten the servos to move the levers in my sim but i want the servos to only work when the autothrottle is ingaged as this is causing problems when i manualy fly
    i am also using PM so this needs to work (not move the throttles)anytime the A/T is just armed not engaged in any mode
    ani IDEAS???

  2. #2
    alandyer
    Guest
    If the throttles move in Microsoft Flight Simulator the servos will track throttle position.

    When A/T is armed but not engaged do throttles move is MS-FS?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    yes the throttles in microsoft move when i manualy move my throttles and the servos react to this

  4. #4
    alandyer
    Guest
    When you say "manually fly" - is this with actual throttle levers or on-screen?

    Still trying to understand what problem is.

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    3rd Rock
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Alan
    I think he is saying that if he Manually changes the Thrust lever position the servos want to move the levers back to the position, before he manually moved the thrust levers. The servos want to hold the commanded position, and he wants to move them to a new position, and have them held there.

    David

  6. #6
    alandyer
    Guest
    Getting into tug-of-war with servos. Right?

    This is a force-feedback problem, where you have a sensor and servo sharing a common moving component.
    Competing "sense" and "command" signals.

    David, correct me if I'm wrong.
    Aircraft manufacturers spend quite a bit of money resolving this by having a force sensor on the throttle lever that detects manual input and inhibits commands from automated system(s).
    (If throttle command/sense split exceeds certain parameters the auto-throttle disconnects). Throttles have a clutch built into the throttle lever mechanics. (Rob has a servo arrangement where he is able to overcome servo torque).

    Offsets in 3330 - 3336 range is intended for joystick inputs. The "Sense" signal.
    Offset 310A provides an inhibit to the "Sense" signal. It is not a "Command" inhibit signal. Would have to speak with PM folks to find out if and how their software operates with that offset.

    Ultimately a software solution can only switch throttle servos off when PM autothrottle is driving throttles.

    This will not be a solution for those builders that want to manually override throttles when autothrottle is driving throttles. Part of that solution will need to be solved mechanically.

    Matt, does Phidgets still have force sensors in stock?

    Regards,
    Alan.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    i solved the problem
    i turn toff the servos when this is set
    from the FSUIPC
    SDK.

    Controls the joystick connection to the main flight controls. Normally all
    zero, set the following bits to actually disconnect the specific joystick
    axes (from least significant bit = 0):
    0 Elevator

    1 Aileron

    2 Rudder

    3 Throttles (all)

    4 See below

    5 Elevator trim

    This feature is intended for use in protecting autopilot flight from
    interference from axis flutter. In order to protect the user from a broken
    or crashed application, all the flags are cleared 10 seconds after they have
    been set, so applications will need to repeat the setting every few seconds.

    If the user option is set to automatically disconnect the trim axis in FS
    A/P vertical modes, the disconnection of Elevator inputs via bit 0 above
    also disconnects Trim even if bit 5 is not also set. This allows existing
    A/P or fly-by-wire applications to work with those user implementations
    using a trim axis.

    Additionally, bit 2^4 is available to switch "throttle sync" on. In this
    mode all throttles are driven from the main throttle or throttle 1 inputs,
    and other throttle inputs are discarded. (The same option can also be used
    from an optional Hot Key).

    See also offsets 3328-3339, which provide the live axis values, post
    calibration. These would have been applied to FS if not prevented by the
    flags above. Applications can use these facilities to provide a responsive
    "fly-by-wire" control.

  8. #8
    alandyer
    Guest
    I was curious as to how you turn off servos.

    What offsets are you using for Throttle position sensing?

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    088C Engine 1 Throttle lever, 4096 to +16384 and 0924 Engine 2 Throttle lever, 4096 to +16384

    to move the throttles when the A/T is on and PM will set 310A 3 Throttles (all)
    which will trip a relay to apply power to the servos
    when this is not set (or set back to 0) it will turn the relay off so i can manualy move the throttles

  10. #10
    alandyer
    Guest
    That is so cool!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. boeing 747 Autothrottle?
    By aron9133 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2011, 06:40 PM
  2. AutoThrottle with servo
    By cesarfsim in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-20-2008, 10:13 PM
  3. autothrottle
    By Jackpilot in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-22-2008, 01:22 PM
  4. PM Autothrottle ????????
    By ktroemer in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-16-2007, 09:29 AM
  5. Re: Autothrottle How-To
    By Stuart Whelan in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2006, 01:43 AM