Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    BG and UK
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I need Cessna172 switch panel dimensions

    Dear fellow flight sim builders, i am looking forward to remove the old
    switch panel in my Cessna 172 flightsim 'cockpit' and build a more realistic one.
    And right now i am scratching my head in bewilderment and trying to establish what the real panel dimensions are.
    I think, the most critical ones ( and therefore - most wanted ) are the distances
    between eight tightening bolts holding the panel to the airplane's dashboard. And (eventually -the width / height of the panel it self.
    The switch panel i am trying to build is as the one from the picture:


    Best Regards.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Norfolk, England
    Posts
    107
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need Cessna172 switch panel dimensions

    Have you thought about going to your local flying club and politely explaining that you are building a 172 simulator and would it be possible to take some picture and measurement of the cockpit.
    You may well be surprised how helpful they are.
    The people interested in aircraft are their possible future customers.
    John

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    BG and UK
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need Cessna172 switch panel dimensions

    Hi John,
    I would absolutely love to do that , if i wasn't back to my country for a holiday. And here is where the 'cockpit' is situated. There is no such blessing as flying clubs here.
    And when back to UK, the work in hospital and patients take 150 % of my conscious time
    Best Regards
    Zlatko

  4. #4
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,119
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need Cessna172 switch panel dimensions

    Hi,

    To be honest with you, there is no one size that fits all i'm afraid, and all the panels differ because the 172 was built throughout many years and has many models and prefixes (for example 172M). The panel you have uploaded is of a certain year and this may not be in later models. So what you need to do is create your own panel and using a panel size that will fit the switch area of your sim. You can then mimic the placements of all the switches and make a very good representation of the panel. If it was me, I would definitely do it this way. In the Cessna 150 cockpit that I am building, my panel is 'all in one'so I have no individual panels, for me it was easier for me to do this way, but every one is different. My blog has some stuff on the switch panel that shows you what I mean
    https://cessna150cockpit.blogspot.com/.


    Also, Hispa panels has a 172 panel and it measures 366 x 100mm if this helps: https://hispapanels.com/tienda/en/ce...nd-lights.html
    GA or the Highway!

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    BG and UK
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need Cessna172 switch panel dimensions

    Hello CessnaGuy,
    the panel you have build so far is really nice and realistic, i like it. Keep up the good work.
    And regarding my switch panel - according to Corel draw- it is about 330 mm by 90 mm approx., but the thing is, i don't believe to what Corel says. And switches are getting much too close to each other ( since i am not using the original ones). What i am considering is extending the panel up-to 350 by 90. Beyond that it is getting difficult to putting avionix master switch right below the Yoke, as per cockpit pictures. At this very moment my panel is just a printed plaque and this time i am planing to 'firing the laser' in the nearest laser shop. But working out the real dimensions of Cessna 172 S or SP, or R in 'steam' configuration switches panel turned out to be mind-boggling task for me. But it is fun too, i should not complain too much
    Best Regards
    Zlatko

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,119
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need Cessna172 switch panel dimensions

    Hi Zlatko

    I have CorelDraw too. I will check the 172 drawing that was uploaded to mycockpit on Corel too and will get back to you.

    I am quite certain the panel is higher than 90mm more like 100-110cm.

    Cheers

    Alex
    GA or the Highway!

  7. #7
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,119
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need Cessna172 switch panel dimensions

    Hi

    These are the measurements that I have come up with:


    Bigger Image: https://4.bp.blogspot.com/-YVGAFMJPQ...600/zlatko.png

    About 99% accurate!

    Cheers! Alex
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by CessnaGuy; 10-27-2018 at 01:31 PM.
    GA or the Highway!

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    BG and UK
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need Cessna172 switch panel dimensions

    Thank you for taking the time to figure out those panel dimensions. And wow, there is a huge difference from what i initially thought. First they looked to me to be 330 by 90 , then 340 by 95 , and now you measured them as 380 by 110.
    I think, you where right when initially mentioned that there is a difference from one panel to another panel.
    Best Regards

  9. #9
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level Crashtender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Lelystad
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: I need Cessna172 switch panel dimensions

    A quick tip:
    Stop thinking in millimeters!.
    The thing is designed in inches. ..
    ...you should do the same.
    Think inches, 1/2 inches, 1/4 inches, 1/8 inches.

    When you do that things will fall in to place and starts to make sense.