Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    238
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Engine start problem

    I have recently been getting an intermittent engine start problem. I have bleed air, batteries on, ignition switching looks normal, however on selecting start the engine winds up to ignition point but does not light up, it goes into auto crank. I usually start engine 2 first, after a failure engine 1 will sometimes start normally. Sometimes neither engine will start, manual does not work and I resort to keyboard Ctrl E.
    This problem has only appeared recently and is intermittent, sometimes I start normally. I note that in the last upgrade there is a correction to a start bug but for IAE which I don't use.
    Anybody else seeing this?
    Barry
    www.a320sim.com

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    39
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Engine start problem

    Hi Barry,
    I too have started seeing this since the last upgrade. I also have it intermittently and like you it will auto crank and relight. I've never had to do a manual or keyboard start.
    Jim

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Krefeld, GER
    Posts
    142
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Engine start problem

    I don't know if it's the same. I recently experience from time to time , that the engine is running up to 21% or so, then stops.( sound goes off) and the values go down to 0 again.

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    england
    Posts
    75
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Engine start problem

    Quote Originally Posted by michael1508 View Post
    I don't know if it's the same. I recently experience from time to time , that the engine is running up to 21% or so, then stops.( sound goes off) and the values go down to 0 again.
    Same here Barry I also have this fault intermittently
    Mike

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    238
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Engine start problem

    Sounds like we are having the same problem. Following Jim's post I have also found that after a failed start it will try again with success. I didn't give it long enough before trying alternative ways of kicking it into action.
    i have talked with some other FMGS users who don't have the problem
    i wonder if temperature has anything to do with it, I will start to log conditions to see if I can find anything.
    Barry
    www.a320sim.com

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,115
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Engine start problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Barrykensett View Post
    i wonder if temperature has anything to do with it, I will start to log conditions to see if I can find anything.
    Barry
    www.a320sim.com
    JL has implemented some sort of weather modelling function -- and yes indeed it does affect the engine - i've also had engine problems when i forget to turn on the anti-ice -- whoops.
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    england
    Posts
    75
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Engine start problem

    Looks like we all have to go to pilots training again----?

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    238
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Engine start problem

    I bet the pilots have bother when someone keeps redesigning the aeroplane when they're not looking ����

  9. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    israel
    Posts
    19
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Engine start problem

    Hello Guys

    i'm trying to startup the engines

    i have an a320 throttletek replica which include ignition switch (crank,norm,ign) korry
    and engine master 1 & 2 switches
    after that i turn on the apu i get to the point that i need to start the engines
    and i already have apu bleed on batteries on fuel pumps on
    i get to the point to the ignition roughly 21% n1 and even that master switches are both on on
    it goes back to zero

    now here is the thing is it a fmgs problem that i need to check that other things are set properly
    is it a weather implemented function as mentions in previous posts
    or that is a switches settings switches can be set from p3d fmgs or fscuipc
    i found the buttons assinments in fmgs a bit complicated
    in p3d there is no option for engine master or that is under another name so where i need to start from to solve this issue

    thanks

    Omar

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    238
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Engine start problem

    Further to my earlier posts there is still something going on which I don't fully understand. I still sometimes have the failed start but I find that if I leave it alone it cranks and then has another go and starts. I think temperature may be an issue, this behaviour only started with recent updates. I have anti- ice on auto but even if I select manual it behaves the same way. Sometimes one engine starts normally but the second has two goes.
    What am I doing wrong?
    Barry

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast