Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Turning switches off

  1. #1
    Aviation Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    42

    Turning switches off

    When I turn off a switch using the simconnect codes will it automatically turn off the switch in the VC? i.e. if I had a toggle switch set to send the code for landing lights on when I turn it off will it turn the landing lights off or would I need to add code to send a separate command?

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    233

    Re: Turning switches off

    You'll need to send a command for the OFF state of the switch.

  3. #3
    Aviation Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    42

    Re: Turning switches off

    How do I detect when it is off?

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    233

    Re: Turning switches off

    I use I/O pin 13 as an output for quick diagnostics since it has the on-board LED indicator.

    Summary:
    1.) PinMode13 as an output
    2.) PinMode another as your input
    3.) digitalRead(InputPin)
    4.) if (InputPin == HIGH) then digitalWrite(Output13 , HIGH) else digitalWrite(Output13 , LOW)
    5.) After confirming proper operation, replace digitalWrite command with the serialPrint commands


    The above is a generic process since I'm unsure of your skill level.

    If you have further questions, please post your code so that we can walk through it together with a clear and concise direction.

    JM

  5. #5
    Aviation Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    42

    Re: Turning switches off

    I'm pretty new to Arduino but that was very helpful. So this would be placed in the main loop, am I correct?

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    233

    Re: Turning switches off

    Yes. Place it the main loop. Also, you'll want to create a string called InputPinold, or something similar, and use it as such:

    if (InputPin != InputPinold){
    if (InputPin == HIGH) then digitalWrite(Output13 , HIGH) else digitalWrite(Output13 , LOW)
    InputPinold = InputPin
    }

    The above will prevent the execution of the digitalWrite command at every pass of the loop when it reads the state of the input pin. Without it and using a command to toggle the gear up or down, the arduino will send a command for the gear- even though the switch did not physically change states. This would cause the gear to up on the first pass, down on the second, up on the third, etc.

  7. #7
    Aviation Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    42

    Re: Turning switches off

    So I tried this an I had it working with the LED. However I changed it to serial print C01 and C02 for the gear and it filled my serial viewer with C01 - any help?
    int val = 0;int inputPin = 2;
    int valOld = 0;


    void setup()
    {
    pinMode(inputPin, INPUT);
    Serial.begin(9600);
    digitalWrite(inputPin, HIGH);
    }


    void loop() {
    val = digitalRead(inputPin);
    if (val != valOld); {
    if (inputPin == HIGH) { Serial.println("C02"); } else { Serial.println("C01"); };
    val == valOld;
    }
    }


  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    233

    Re: Turning switches off

    inputPin always will equal 2.
    ReWrite - if (val == HIGH)
    if (
    val == HIGH) { Serial.println("C02"); } else { Serial.println("C01"); };

  9. #9
    Aviation Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    42

    Re: Turning switches off

    You are brilliant! Thank you.

    Just one more question: The above code (with the fix that you suggested) is sending the line 'C02'/'C01' repeatedly whereas I thought the assignment of varOld would stop this from happening? Have I done something wrong?

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    233

    Re: Turning switches off

    Sorry. My mistake from post #6.

    edited post #6 to read:
    InputPinold = InputPin

    JM

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast