Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    263
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looking for display ideas

    I am running a home cockpit using four HD screens. In P3D prior to Version 4 I could get 30 fps with reasonable settings and smooth flying.
    Having gone to version 4 I am finding frame rate is now below 20 fps and in scenery below that so is not enjoyable flying. I am temporarily using two screens and getting over 70 fps with higher settings.
    My PC is five years old and I would build a new one if I could get higher speeds but I am running at 4.40 with overclocking and looking at processors available they don't seem to have got much faster. There is very little running on the main PC other than FS. I do run Jeehell server on that and I know it is now possible to run that on the network but not sure how much that will do. I plan to try it.
    Can anyone give me ideas on which way to go?
    You can see my setup here www.a320sim.com
    Barry

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,119
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Looking for display ideas

    I would dedicate your main PC to P3D alone - the FMGS Server program might affect performance if run concurrently.

    I am running everything on one 7700k processor overclocked to 4k - its a tad slow at busy airports (I think I am loosing around 10-20 frames), but will do for now. I plan to setup another computer further down the line which will run the FMGS avionics software independently.

    Its not only about clock speed, but how the IPC is performing -- for example I had a Sandy Bridge 2500k which could overclock to 4.4 ghz, but my 7700k only clocked to 4 ghz has much much more computing power.
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    936
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Looking for display ideas

    Barry,
    Have a look on Cockpitbuilders.com, there has been plenty of discussion on PC power. Lots of good advice.
    Regards
    Les

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    263
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Looking for display ideas

    Thanks for the advice. I have tried moving the FMGS server onto another PC but it is not working for me, clearly I have done something wrong and will keep trying. Although I have edited the IP addresses it is not connecting across the network.
    Barry

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,119
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Looking for display ideas

    Quote Originally Posted by Barrykensett View Post
    Thanks for the advice. I have tried moving the FMGS server onto another PC but it is not working for me, clearly I have done something wrong and will keep trying. Although I have edited the IP addresses it is not connecting across the network.
    Barry
    Have you followed my tutorial Barry?
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    263
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Looking for display ideas

    Quote Originally Posted by OmniAtlas View Post
    Have you followed my tutorial Barry?
    Yes thanks, it was not the simconnect that was bothering me, I was not getting my Skalarki gear running properly but I have sorted that so all seems to be working. I have some setting up to do before I can comment on frame rates but it looks promising. Family festive events getting in the way of my simulating!
    Barry

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    263
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Looking for display ideas

    Well I got the system working and the frame rates on the FS looked to be 5 to 10 FPS higher. Needs extended testing to firm up on that.
    However the PC that I put the server on drives the displays and the FCU and it slowed down to an unacceptable level. I then tried on the PC that runs the hardware and MCDU and again it slowed that down (not a high spec PC) so overall it is clear the server takes up a good bit of processing power.
    I have a laptop wth i7 processor which may drive the server so that is the next planned trial.
    Barry