Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    57
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Has anyone accomplished this?

    Good evening,

    i was was just wondering if anyone has (if it can be done) enables 7 segment displays that make up radio panel to turn off if the battery and switch is off. At the moment it turns off in the sim but displays outside the sim stay on. Is there a way to do this?
    many
    Marc

  2. #2
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,592
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Has anyone accomplished this?

    I think this is actually built into prosim logic, but I suspect you could also easily wire in the USB connections to the pedestal radios running through the overhead battery switch.
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Evansville, Indiana
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Has anyone accomplished this?

    Marc1980,

    If your Radio display is run from an Arduino, and your display is using a Max7219 or similar with LedControl library, then yes you can do this.
    Get the state of the Battery or Master switch in the cockpit and then have the Arduino write "Spaces" to all digits on the display.
    That's one way there are probably several.

    ~Fess
    I will only ever be, half the Geek that I wished I was.
    TheGeekForge.Com

  4. #4
    New Member



    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Has anyone accomplished this?

    Hi Marc,

    If you are using Arduino or some other programmable dev board/microcontroller, and if the space method suggested by Fess doesn't work, you could try to make a program that reads the switch status from the Sim and sends it over serial to the controller. The controller would then run a code to switch a digital pin on or off depending on the state. You could try to experiment with using that digital output as a signal with a transistor as a switch, and have it toggle the power supply of the segmented display driver IC.

    If the driver has a brightness pin, you could use the previous signal in a similar (transistor) setup, but by switching positive voltage with a transistor and resistors to the brightness pin instead of interrupting the power source. That may be a more stable and better solution in the long run.

    Best regards,
    David

  5. #5
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Has anyone accomplished this?

    I do this similar to Fess, except I look at the Avionics Bus Voltage to decide whether power is on or not.

    I crudely just look for power < 12 then power is off else power is on.

    This works for Battery, Master and a flat battery.

    Chris.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    stockholm
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Has anyone accomplished this?


  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    57
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Has anyone accomplished this?

    thanks for the replies. that is great. I will have a play when I get a bit of time.
    Regards
    Marc