Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New SIM Builder

Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

New SIM Builder

Hi all,

I am new to the forum and also new to SIM building. I am a qualified commercial pilot with a fair amount of flying experience and would now like to look at building my own SIM. I have been amassing bits over time and have got a set of simkit instruments ( the main 6 pack) plus some gauges, a flap switch, a trimmer control, an AP2000 (I think) avionics stack and a couple of other bits and pieces. I have got the main instruments working and my controller board has 38 interfaces so can be extended.

I am not overly happy with the AP2000 as it still needs the separate display to be shown and I would like, if possible to use a separate monitor for the NAV instruments - is this possible?

I have a couple of throttle quadrants plus the CH Yoke.

What suggestions do you guys have in terms of how best to start outing this together into a SIM?

I thought about using a couple of old PC cases as the material for building the panels to hold the gauges - is this common?

Thanks

D

Re: New SIM Builder

No comments?

Thanks

D

150+ Forum Groupie

Hi Dunny. In general you should be patient, two days of waiting is not much in a niche and therefore rather low volume forum like this one. In general people are helpful though and if you get no answers (in maybe 10 days) it means something is wrong with your questions.

You don't seem to provide any information on what kind of sim you're building, the platform, your expectations, goals, etc. So I don't know what answers could be given even if someone got down to it.

Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar

Hi D!
    Welcome to MyCockpit, your project sounds intriguing. What aircraft are you building?
    What type of aircraft do you fly for your job?
    And if the above are not the same, why not!?