Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Lightbulb Link2FS + Slide Potentiometer

Hi guys!

I am totally brand new to the Arduino game! Having tinkered with the Raspberry Pi and hacking keyboards to make simple flight cockpit switches I have read into using Link2FS and an Arduino Mega.

I have an Arduino Mega 2560 and am holding off on buying the encoders / potentiometer.

I have read so many contradicting threads on using slide potentiometes, rotary encoders etc for throttle and mixture and am just overwhelmed.

Can anyone suggest the best method for creating a throttle? This is for a Cessna 172R so not the big Boeing throttles with servos etc!

I just want to get some direction on the type of
    potentiometer or encoder I need and any advice on how I can get this physically doing things on my FSX using Link2FS as I have well and truly thrown myself in the deep end!

Cheers
    Ash

500+ This must be a daytime job

Re: Link2FS + Slide Potentiometer

There are many different ways to build a throttle, I struggled for a long time. I eventually modelled mine after the original FDS throttle. I used geared rotary pots on mine. I have 3-d models for a pretty good set of handles, I printed mine and they are fantastic. The gates are stopped-out with the ball-catch, and thrust reverse is stopped-out with a block that gets cleared when you pull up on the thrust reverse handles. I have seen several built with slide pots too, I was just more comfortable with rotary. I have pics posted elsewhere on this forum. If you get to the point you want to try something out, email me here and I will see what I can do to help you.

For what it's worth, Westozy uses rotary pots on his throttles, and I would consider his to be the definitive model to which all others are compared.