Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    mora
    Posts
    63
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Com Port problems

    OK, here is the problem. I am trying to run two arduino boards on my simulator and I can't seem to make the second board work. The #1 is Arduino Mega, 2560 and all is working fine, shows I am connected to port #5. #2 is Arduino Uno and when I connect it to the computer message says Installing Driver Software,(takes a long time) and than says device software was not successfully installed. It makes no difference which com port I put it into I get the same results. When I open the arduino IDE, go to tools, it shows that com 1 port is for Uno and com port 5 is for Mega. What am I not doing right???

    deskpilot

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Com Port problems

    Deskpilot:
    Com 1 must be reserved for operating system.
    Plug the Uno only, (no other software runing).
    Wait for drivers installed, then change the com port of the Uno in Control Panel.
    If the Uno is not recognized, maybe you need another driver. (This happen with some Arduino Clones)
    Regards.
    Horacio.

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    mora
    Posts
    63
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Com Port problems

    When I only plug in the Uno, No message that driver is being installed. I don't know how to change the com port in the control panel??
    deskilot:

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Com Port problems

    Deskpilot:
    System? XP, win7, win 10?
    In the Control Panel, Devices Manager under COM and LPT ports, is the Arduino Uno listed?
    If Arduino uno is listed, then properties, port configuration, advanced options, number of COM port tab.
    Regards.
    Horacio.

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    mora
    Posts
    63
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Com Port problems

    No, the Arduino Uno is not listed

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Com Port problems


  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    mora
    Posts
    63
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Com Port problems

    Thank you for helping me. I downloaded the zip file and did the install in that post . I did a reboot and now when I start my computer, click on device manager, "Arduino Uno (com-10)" shows up under "Ports (Com &LPT). Then I opened the IDE, tools, shows connected to COM-1 and does not list Com-10 at all????? still won't work

    deskpilot

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Com Port problems

    deskpilot:

    Ok.
    Close Arduino IDE program.
    Un-plug Arduino 1.
    Plug again Arduino Board.
    With Arduino plugged, in Device Manager, change com port (port configuration, tab advanced settings, number of Com port other than 1, 2 (1 and 2 are used by Operating System).
    Disconnect Arduino, and re-connect.
    Device manager shows the new COM port.
    Now open Arduino IDE.
    If the error continues, maybe a reinstall of Arduino Ide is the solution.
    Let me know your progress.
    Regards.
    Horacio.

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    mora
    Posts
    63
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Com Port problems

    Horacio, OK. When I right click on Arduino Uno port, there is no advance tab, only General,port setings,driver,and details. Under General tab is Device type: ports (com& LPT). Manufacture: Arduino LCC. Location: Port_#0002 Hub_#0007. Status Message says: "this device cannot start (code-10)

    deskpilot

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Com Port problems

    deskpilot:
    In Port Settings, must be a button with Advanced Options. (down left)



    Anyway, read this post:

    http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=121781.0


    Maybe your arduino is a "clone".
    Regards.
    Horacio.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast