Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,862
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Running remote programs (starter.exe on client computers)

    Hello, I would like to run starter.exe on a network computer remotely.

    I've come across PSTools/Psexec -- https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...ls/psexec.aspx
    And it looks like it could be very useful...unfortunately I get an error upon trying to run the program (access is denied) although I can access network folders with no problem.

    Does anyone else have an alternative solution, or have they sucessfully used PSexec?

    Thank you.
    Soarbywire - Flight Simulation News and Resource | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict asessa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Salerno , Italy
    Posts
    362
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Running remote programs (starter.exe on client computers)

    Ben, why do you not add JL to the startup program of Windows ?

    http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/faq/id...p-windows.html

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,862
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Running remote programs (starter.exe on client computers)

    I like to start and close the program's remotely (let's say the hardware interface crashes; which has happen on several occasions). I would also like to do a remote shutdown.

    Perhaps I should just telnet in?
    Soarbywire - Flight Simulation News and Resource | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict asessa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Salerno , Italy
    Posts
    362
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Running remote programs (starter.exe on client computers)

    i don't think telnet is for your intentions.
    I use teamviewer to access the JL client pc

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    191
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Running remote programs (starter.exe on client computers)

    I use Tightviewer, give it a try.

    Barry
    www.a320sim.com

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Yorkshire Dales
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Running remote programs (starter.exe on client computers)

    I use TightVNC, another option similar to the above by the sound of it.

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,862
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Running remote programs (starter.exe on client computers)

    I use teamviewer, but I was looking for a more straight forward approach, or a script which I can use for fast startup and shutdown.

    I understand FSUIPC/WIDEFS might also have these functions?

    Thank you.
    Soarbywire - Flight Simulation News and Resource | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member Fritz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    138
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Running remote programs (starter.exe on client computers)

    I had also already taken the approach that the computer starts with Wake on LAN
    and then the programs are started automatically. However, it is not easy because
    the starter.exe must be started with administrator rights. In addition some
    Programs also need to be started in a specific order. With simstarter it's also
    possible to start programs on client pc's. But have never actually get this to work.
    Now I do that again manually via TeamViewer. In the meantime I had upgrade to windows 10.
    Maby next time I will give another try.

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Yorkshire Dales
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Running remote programs (starter.exe on client computers)

    I use /wideFS to start programs on my slave pc but I have them to start on demand, linked to a button press so I can decide which ones, and in what order to start them.
    WRT starter.exe can you change the properties box for it to "run as admin"? I don't have this program so I don't know if that is possible. I have most of mine set up that way.

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict luisgordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    304
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Running remote programs (starter.exe on client computers)

    Quote Originally Posted by OmniAtlas View Post
    I use teamviewer, but I was looking for a more straight forward approach, or a script which I can use for fast startup and shutdown.

    I understand FSUIPC/WIDEFS might also have these functions?

    Thank you.
    Yes indeed, FSUIPC/WideFS have options to do this (restart programs started by WideFS upon connecting to FS from a remote PC. Check the documentation.

    Instructor Station (www.iStationGordo.com) includes commands to actuate these FSUIPC/WideFS actions.
    Luis Gordo
    Instructor StationTM - www.iStationGordo.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast