Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member sharonna511's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Throttle Build Mechanical Issue, help wanted!

    Hello

    I am currently in the progress of building a Q400 Throttle Unit.
    I am already very far with it, but now i am at an impasse, i am a handyman so i can build stuff but i am not good with mechanics.
    My original mechanic does not work as intended.

    Let me explain my problem:
    If i turn a lever the hole threaded rod turns with it, and the nuts tighten/lose themselves.
    I have no clue how to prevent that, every idea / help is welcome.

    See attachments pictures for my construction.

    Thanks for your help.
    Regards
    Sharonna
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    227
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Build Mechanical Issue, help wanted!

    Hi Sharonna,

    You can use self locking nuts or Loctite 243. That will prevent loosing the nuts.

    Regards

    Jan

  3. #3
    New Member sharonna511's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Build Mechanical Issue, help wanted!

    Thanks a lot, will try it with those nuts, and i always wondered for what they where...

  4. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,487
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Build Mechanical Issue, help wanted!

    I would remove your threaded rod altogether and fit a simple plain rod for your pivot axle. Use larger diameter spacers up against your gears to stabilize the levers. You could fit two threaded rods front and back to stabilize your dividers and these could also act as throttle stops. I'm not a fan of the threaded rod and nut method, very tedious to assemble. You could use simple tubes cut to length to act as spacers with threaded rod and only one nut at each end. Cheers Gwyn (Pro throttle builder!!)
    Last edited by Westozy; 03-07-2016 at 09:55 PM.

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  5. #5
    New Member sharonna511's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Build Mechanical Issue, help wanted!

    Thanks for the idea !
    Your absolutly right, it sucks. I just had no other idea.
    To clarify: Have i got this right ? Instead of the nuts use a plain pipe/tube and inside that runs the threaded rod, then nuts at both ends, the tubes cut to lenght for spacing but so that its tight.

    Thanks for your help.

    See attachment, blue = thread rod, copper = tubes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Westozy View Post
    I would remove your threaded rod altogether and fit a simple plain rod for your pivot axle. Use larger diameter spacers up against your gears to stabilize the levers. You could fit two threaded rods front and back to stabilize your dividers and these could also act as throttle stops. I'm not a fan of the threaded rod and nut method, very tedious to assemble. You could use simple tubes cut to length to act as spacers with threaded rod and only one nut at each end. Cheers Gwyn (Pro throttle builder!!)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,487
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Build Mechanical Issue, help wanted!

    Hi Sharonna, yes that would work if the tubes are all tightened by the nuts on each end. your drive gears/levers should rotate on the outside of the tubes then they will not interfere with other levers. You should still fit large diameter spacers up to the throttle gears to stop the levers bending sideways. I also mount my potentiometers on swinging arms so they can be rotated into mesh then locked in place, simpler than bringing the pot shaft through a wall then trying to fit the small gear.

    Cheers Gwyn
    Last edited by Westozy; 03-09-2016 at 12:02 AM.

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!