Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    263
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    7 segment decimal point

    Hi ,
    i'm trying to hardwire the decimal point , how can I do this using the master card or display card???


    Have had a look at a forumn post on opencockpits but it didn't make any sense.



    Thanks

    Michael
    A320 Home Simulator LHA435
    - P3dv4.5 - i7 - GTX970 - Fly Elise - ASN - Black Marble

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    698
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment decimal point

    Connect the DP pin (of the 7-segment digit) -with a wire- to an output of your Master card (without a resistor).

    Nico

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member sstusek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    49
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment decimal point

    Hello,

    Is there a way to dimm dot point together with 7-segment digits? While I dimm digits, dots stay bright!
    Thanks.

    Simon

  4. Likes kiek liked this post
  5. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Bexleyheath,Kent UK
    Posts
    102
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment decimal point

    if you can settle a fixed "dimness" simply pop in a resistor !

    John
    Old, tired & broke (shouldn't be allowed out really)

  6. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    698
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment decimal point

    Quote Originally Posted by sstusek View Post
    Hello,

    Is there a way to dimm dot point together with 7-segment digits? While I dimm digits, dots stay bright!
    Thanks.

    Simon
    You can do that in software in SIOC, by switching the output that controls the DP on/off frequently. Pulse width modulation as it is called.
    Nico

  7. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    698
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment decimal point

    Quote Originally Posted by sstusek View Post
    Hello,

    Is there a way to dimm dot point together with 7-segment digits? While I dimm digits, dots stay bright!
    Thanks.

    Simon
    You can do that in software in SIOC, by switching the output that controls the DP on/off frequently. Pulse width modulation as it is called.
    Nico

  8. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    263
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment decimal point

    got it

    Thanks

    Michael
    A320 Home Simulator LHA435
    - P3dv4.5 - i7 - GTX970 - Fly Elise - ASN - Black Marble

  9. #8
    25+ Posting Member sstusek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    49
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment decimal point

    Quote Originally Posted by John_B View Post
    if you can settle a fixed "dimness" simply pop in a resistor !
    John
    Hi,
    John, that is exactly how I solved the dimming problem at the moment but I do not like it that much!
    I have read many manuals on how to dimm OC 7 segment displays and dot point but none actually worked for DP?!

    Quote Originally Posted by kiek View Post
    You can do that in software in SIOC, by switching the output that controls the DP on/off frequently. Pulse width modulation as it is called.
    Nico
    I am interested in Nico's approach. It makes sense to use PWM, I just don´t have the idea how to start programing that in SIOC? Is possible to learn more about PWM in SIOC?

    Thank you,
    Simon

  10. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    698
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment decimal point

    Hi Simon,
    Quote Originally Posted by sstusek View Post
    I am interested in Nico's approach. It makes sense to use PWM, I just don´t have the idea how to start programing that in SIOC? Is possible to learn more about PWM in SIOC?
    I have not tested it yet, but basically it goes like this:
    Code:
    Var 0 Value 0
    {
      &dimcontrol = 0
      &dimcontrol = TIMER 1 0 4  
    // 4 means 40 msec 
    }
    
    
    Var 1 name dimvalue value 3   // values between 1 and 4:   1=25%, 2=50%, 3=75%, 4=100%
    Var 2 name DPvalue            // 0 or 1 
    
    
    Var 10 name dimcontrol Link SUBRUTINE
    {
    // is called 25 times per second
      &DP = &DPvalue
      IF &DPvalue == 1
      {
        IF &dimvalue <= 3 // EDIT changed 4 into 3!
        {
          IF &dimvalue >= 1
          {
            &DP = DELAY 0 &dimvalue  // determines the width of the pulse (PWM)
          }
        } 
      }
    }
    
    
    Var 100 name DP Link IOCARD_OUT Output 78
    So there are three dimming levels. We could program more but then the frequency would go below 25Hz and flickering would occur.
    After I have tested it, to make sure it works fine, I'll add it to my collection of example SIOC scripts at my Howto SIOC page.

    Nico
    Last edited by kiek; 03-02-2016 at 06:44 PM.

  11. Thanks sstusek, iwik thanked for this post
    Likes iwik liked this post
  12. #10
    25+ Posting Member sstusek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    49
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment decimal point

    Hi Nico,

    Thank you for this PWM example code, I will try it.
    I basically learned to "sioc" on your Howto SIOC page. It was and still is a great help, it´s actually the Rosetta Stone of SIOC

    Thanks,
    Simon

  13. Likes kiek liked this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast