Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member pablonator3000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question JeeHell FMGS and Leobodnar board

    Hello guys,
    One question!
    I want to build an overhead- and several other panels for my A320 simulator. I want to use an leobodnar board, because it's very easy to use!
    The question: Is it possible to use the leobodnar board BU0836X with the FMGS software? If yes, is it only able to put inputs into the PC or not? Which board do you prefer? Is it compatible with outputs for the LED's in the selfmade korys? I have an Arduino Mega board too but I was not able to use it for my cokpit :/.
    I'm really looking forward to your replies!
    Yours Pablo

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Speyer, Germany
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: JeeHell FMGS and Leobodnar board

    Hey Pablo,

    I donīt use it, but I remember some guys which are using the Leobodnar Board for inputs. It mainly works like the Arcazes and will be found as a joystick device under Windows.

    Regarding the Arduiono board: have you ever tried Mobiflight? www.mobiflight.de .. fantastic soft for home cockpits like ours.

    Cheers
    Stephan

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: JeeHell FMGS and Leobodnar board

    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan Schwarz View Post
    Hey Pablo,

    I donīt use it, but I remember some guys which are using the Leobodnar Board for inputs. It mainly works like the Arcazes and will be found as a joystick device under Windows.

    Regarding the Arduiono board: have you ever tried Mobiflight? www.mobiflight.de .. fantastic soft for home cockpits like ours.

    Cheers
    Stephan
    The arduiono and mobiflight combination sounds interesting. I will need to wire up the overhead - will it be suitable because it also supports 7 segment modules for the battery and adr indicator?
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie masterp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Ho Chi Minh City
    Posts
    190
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: JeeHell FMGS and Leobodnar board

    I have not tried Leobodnar, but the Arduino is a very cheap solution., you should try to combine it with mobiflight as Stephan's suggestion. Very easy to use.
    Cheers

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Speyer, Germany
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: JeeHell FMGS and Leobodnar board

    You can wire up 7-segment displays with a Max 7219. Unfortunately there are only these RED modules available as finished boards

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/1PCS-MAX7219...QAAOSwnDxUbp4V

    But there shall be options to build your own displays using the Max 7219 chip and your own 7-segments; but I have not realized this yet so I cannot report how it works.

    Further help can be given by the Mobiflight user forum.

    Regards,
    Stephan

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member pablonator3000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: JeeHell FMGS and Leobodnar board

    Thanks for your replies!
    Yes I have tried Mobiflight but it did not work for me. :/ Do I have to programme the Arcaze modul? If yes is it hard to use?
    Yours Pablo

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: JeeHell FMGS and Leobodnar board

    The problem is the overhead has over 100 switches, and each switch needs to be wired to 2 led outputs. The arduiono board has only 40 led outputs.

    Might be be more straight foward to go with one Sys 1 board (only one Power supply needed).
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Speyer, Germany
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: JeeHell FMGS and Leobodnar board

    The Mobiflight is easy to use: just download the MFConnector and the Arduino software, then you upload the Mobiflight firmware and you can start immediately.

    There is no limitation im max. connected Mega boards, so you can have hundereds of switches and LEDīs; okay, one power supply will not be enough but cost wise the Mega is IMHO the cheapest solution (15-20 EUR per Board as the clones from SainSmart etc can be used).

    Regards,
    Stephan

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: JeeHell FMGS and Leobodnar board

    Hi Stephan,

    I checked on the arduino website and it says each card can have 54 digital input/output. I did a quick count on PB on the overhead and there are at least over 80, excluding the switches.

    So for inputs I will need at least 100
    For output I need at least 160 (each PB has upper and lower LED)

    So I will need at least 2 boards for the inputs, and 4 for output?

    So that would be 6 boards in total I will need for the overhead, am I calculating that correctly?

    This is cheaper (if you are going with the clone boards -- $11 ! http://www.sainsmart.com/arduino/con...ga2560-r3.html) than the other options out there.

    Thanks.
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Speyer, Germany
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: JeeHell FMGS and Leobodnar board

    Hi Ben,

    with Mobiflight there is a limitation, not all IOīs can be used for any reason. IMHO there are 40 inputs OR outputs per Mega 2560 available. This would mean at least 7 cards for your overhead.

    If you separate inputs and outputs by board, you do not need 7 power supplies, only for the LED outputs those would be necessary.

    I am not the big specialist in Mobiflight, I have just realized a small panel with the soft until now (some switches and some LEDīs). I was thinking about building my overhead based on Mobiflight, but for several reasons I am still flying with my 1st prototype OVH and have currently no time for building.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread