Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Opencockpits MCDU and SIOC Creator

    Hi,

    I have a Boeing (to be replaced with an Airbus version this year...hopefully) MCDU from Opencockpits which I would like to use with my FMGS A320. I've tried setting it up using SIOC Creator but have had no success. I get to the stage where I need to press LSK1, but nothing happens.

    At present it's just plugged into my PC via USB, so I was wondering if I need to get a USB Key Card like this one to enable it to work, or whether it can be done as is?



    Greatly appreciate any help on this.

    Regards,

    Mick
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits MCDU and SIOC Creator

    I've had further thoughts on this and done some more reading and have now come to the conclusion that my FMC must already have a USB Keys Card in it for it to work in the first place (someone please correct me if I'm wrong), so now I'm back at square one.

    Does anyone know of a tutorial or documentation or is willing to lead me through it so that I can get my OC FMC to work with A320FMGS. It would have to be a step by step process as this is all very new to me and I am really struggling to get my head around things, bit any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Many thanks,
    Mick

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits MCDU and SIOC Creator

    I would need to run through it again to produce a tutorial, I found it fairly straightforward except that the apply button was off my screen and JL helped me find that. Just some first thoughts, you need to have the sim running with FSUIPC etc on to do the programming. Also I can't remember whether I had to do some changes to SIOC.ini, I already had the MCDU running with AST so did that bit some time ago.
    When I got through the programming which was quite easy I found it overwrote my SIOC script. I recovered the backup and just added the line to the bottom which JL's program created.
    When I have the sim running I will try to run through the process again so that I can produce a record, not just for you as I should put one in my manual anyway.
    Barry

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits MCDU and SIOC Creator

    I am sure you have the USBKeys card already in the MCDU. I built my own MCDU using that card and I am sure there is no difference between us in the use of the card.
    Barry

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits MCDU and SIOC Creator

    Quote Originally Posted by Barrykensett View Post
    I would need to run through it again to produce a tutorial, I found it fairly straightforward except that the apply button was off my screen and JL helped me find that. Just some first thoughts, you need to have the sim running with FSUIPC etc on to do the programming. Also I can't remember whether I had to do some changes to SIOC.ini, I already had the MCDU running with AST so did that bit some time ago.
    When I got through the programming which was quite easy I found it overwrote my SIOC script. I recovered the backup and just added the line to the bottom which JL's program created.
    When I have the sim running I will try to run through the process again so that I can produce a record, not just for you as I should put one in my manual anyway.
    Barry
    Hi Barry,

    I've had a go with P3D running but am still getting the same result when I try and run SIOC Creator. I am in a similar position to you, in that I already have my FMC running with PMDG 737 and Aerosoft Airbus. The only thing I had to do was change the port to 8094 as 8092 appears tobe being used by another program.

    If you could find the time to produce a tutorial I would be really grateful, as would a few others I'm sure.

    Regards,

    Mick

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits MCDU and SIOC Creator

    Hi,

    Well, I'm still having no luck getting this working. I noticed that SIOC_Creator runs an ConfigUSBkeys.ssi. Looking at mine the only text in that file is:

    Var 0001, name key, Link USB_KEYS, Device 13

    Is this correct, or should there be more in there?

    Many thanks,

    Mick

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits MCDU and SIOC Creator

    Just in case this helps here are some screenshots and my sioc.ini file.

    [SIOC]
    IOCP_port=8092
    IOCP_timeout=4000
    Minimized=Yes
    toggle_delay=20
    [IOCARDS MODULE]
    IOCard_disable=No
    IOCard_LPT=No
    [FSUIPC MODULE]
    FSUipcdisable=No
    FSUipcRefresh=60
    [IOCP CLIENTS MODULES]
    IOCPini_delay= 3000
    IOCPclient0_disable=yes
    IOCPclient0_host=localhost
    IOCPclient0_port=8099
    IOCPclient1_disable=yes
    IOCPclient1_host=localhost
    IOCPclient1_port=8092
    [SOUND MODULE]
    Sound_disable=Yes
    Volume=100[*]
    [Configuration File]
    CONFIG_FILE=.\ConfigUSBkeys.ssi
    MASTER=13,13,1,28



    I really would appreciate some help with this, if it's actually possible to do.

    Many thanks in advance,

    Mick Williams
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,425
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits MCDU and SIOC Creator

    Try maybe putting 28 as device IDX in SIOC Creator, don't rememebr exactly all that stuff (coded long time ago).
    Check in IOCP console if your MCDU produces any output as well.

    JL

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,425
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits MCDU and SIOC Creator

    Also, it seems the newer MCDU do not have USBkeys inside, but rather modified master card.
    I am not sure, but try replacing the line in configUSBkeys with that line:
    Var 0001, name keys, Link IOCARD_KEYS, device 13

    (do that after SIOC Creator creates that file and before running the next phase of configuring the MCDU keys).

    JL

  10. #10
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits MCDU and SIOC Creator

    Fantastic...thank you. I now have SIOC_Creator recognizing my button presses after changing the configUSBkeys.ssi.

    Unfortunately I still appear to have a problem though. I was under the impression that the output is saved to JeeHellWare.ssi, but when I look at mine after pressing Apply Configuration all it has is: Var 0001, name key, Link USB_KEYS, Device 13

    Am I missing something?

    Regards,

    Mick

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast