Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    VALUE OF POTENTIOMETERS FOR THROTTLES

    Hi Folks.

    I am using a 100k potentiometer for my throttles, but notice that the engines do not reach maximum or drop fully down to idle properly. The pot does cover a full sweep, and it has been calibrated properly.
    Should I be using 10k instead of 100k? Anybody know what would be typical value and type of pot should be used?

    Many thanks.

    Tony. UK

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: VALUE OF POTENTIOMETERS FOR THROTTLES

    Tony,
    Anything between 10k and 100k should be fine. Some say keeping them closer to lower range is better for noise
    immunity. I've used any value between the above with no trouble.
    If you are not getting the full range and you are using FSX/FS9 for calibrating make sure the pots sensitivity
    is set to 100%. I came unstuck with a Saitek throttle quadrant, could not get max. So check those settings.
    Cheers
    Les

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    BG and UK
    Posts
    51
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: VALUE OF POTENTIOMETERS FOR THROTTLES

    HiToni,
    I've been using 10 k , together with 12 bit card and experienced problem similar to yours - before reajusting the setting from picture one to become as per picture two - with increased Throthe sensitivity slider to max and reduced zero point.

    pic 1 - wrong setting,
    pic 2 -right setting
    Regards
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg 1.JPG (75.1 KB, 63 views)
    • File Type: jpg 2.JPG (80.7 KB, 61 views)

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: VALUE OF POTENTIOMETERS FOR THROTTLES

    Quote Originally Posted by iwik View Post
    Tony,
    Anything between 10k and 100k should be fine. Some say keeping them closer to lower range is better for noise
    immunity. I've used any value between the above with no trouble.
    If you are not getting the full range and you are using FSX/FS9 for calibrating make sure the pots sensitivity
    is set to 100%. I came unstuck with a Saitek throttle quadrant, could not get max. So check those settings.
    Cheers
    Les
    Thanks Les.
    What type of pots? Log? Linear?

    Thanks again.

    Tony.

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: VALUE OF POTENTIOMETERS FOR THROTTLES

    As Les will be asleep, always linear pots

    David

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: VALUE OF POTENTIOMETERS FOR THROTTLES

    Thanks David
    Les