Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    156
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Slider Potentiometers

    Hi All
    I'm looking at using a couple of slider pots on my helicopter simpit. They would attach to two horizontal rods that control the cyclic and have a movement of 70mm forward and back. Has anyone used slider pots for this type of setup and if so what type of slider pots would be recommended some I have
    seen have a short cycle life about 15,000

    Cheers

    Rhys

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    50
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slider Potentiometers

    I used some 100mm long ones for engine controls on a custom RC transmitter I built for a WWII Destroyer ship model. Something to watch out for... They come in logarithmic or linear scales. Make sure you get linear. It is more common to use rotary pots with gears than to use sliders when the user controls have arcs to their movements. Not saying you can't or shouldn't try, but be aware that your motion profile will be slightly skewed by translation of the rotary motion to linear motion. I think. I am not an engineer. Wouldn't be enough of a concern so I say go for it.

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slider Potentiometers

    There are other things that can be tried. Not fully related, but look at that for ideas :http://www.simprojects.nl/throttle_and_mixture.htm

  4. #4
    New Member


    Flying_Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slider Potentiometers

    I use this one: http://www.phidgets.com/products.php...duct_id=1112_1
    However, it has 60 mm of travel.

    Nick


    -----------
    My sim build blog: http://elephantair737.blogspot.ca/ NOTE: Due to CB forum glitch none of my messages here posted before October 2015 are currently available.

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    156
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slider Potentiometers

    Hi guys
    Thanks for the tips. Ordered a slider pot which should arrive soon. looking at different options to see which one works best,rotary pots hall effect sensors.

    Cheers

    Rhys

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie



    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Moore OK
    Posts
    158
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Slider Potentiometers

    Halls are (generally) more precise and last longer. They are, however, sensitive to strong magnetic fields. You can get "barebones" Halls that are designed as drop-in replacements for pots, or you can get something fancy like the AS5040/AS5045 that has 4 sensors on a tiny chip and all sorts of filtering....plus serial output (among others) for very high-level communications to your interface controller of choice.