Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Squack! My custom home built transponder

    Here is my [in progress] transponder build for a cessna cockpit.

    It started froim seeing nice thumbwheel input digits in the surplus store, and mixed with scrapmetal I want to use...

    Here's what it looks like so far, I still have to interface it to an arduino nano.



    Am I on a good start?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Squack! My custom home built transponder

    no comments, but the number of views keep increasing. There must be some interest...

    here's what it does now that I added an arduino to the mix...



    Anything wrong? let me know all comments are welcomed.

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    204
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Squack! My custom home built transponder

    Hi, (iīm the only who reply your posts ??)
    Very nice solution.
    Only trouble i see, is the inputs digits go from 0 to 9.
    In the real transponder, digits are from 0 to 7.
    How do you manage the digits 8 and 9? Sure there is a software way to bypass this.....
    And FS doesnīt simulate transponder modes, itīs a shame not find a way to real ident with ATC, and flashing light with response from ATC too when the xponder code is properly set.

    Regards.
    Horacio.

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Squack! My custom home built transponder

    The digits 8 and 9 are possible, and wrong, but I will let the Arduino software handle that as I cannot block the mechanism from going there. In theory, you get the code from ground control, so unless you enter something else you shouldn't input these numbers. It's not dramatic, just a minor annoyance.

    What I will do: when you enter 8 or 9 it will send 7. As long as you enter the good code assigned to you all is correct.
    It's sad the flight Sim does not handle modes, really. It's such an essential part of flying!

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Squack! My custom home built transponder

    I was going to respong earlier but got caught up on ebay looking for thumbwheel inputs like what you are using. I think it's a fantastic looking solution and really hope you share your arduino code when you are done I would like to build one but my undertanding of writing arduino scripts is very limited.

    Please post another video when you get it communicating with flight sim.

    Cheers
    Shawn

  6. Likes SimSupervisor liked this post
  7. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Squack! My custom home built transponder

    When it is done, I will post my arduino code if it can help others.

    I am using timer interrupts in mine as it is the best way to de bounce the thumbswitches. I did not want to waste the pins and am using them on common pins, checking bit per bit in order in a timed manner.

    When I saw those at the surplus store running for 2$ a piece, I knew I wanted to use them for that. It's an easy an elegant solution if you are not going for a specific model.