Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Throttle Detents

    This one has me stumped, here's a bit of background info:

    Although the HS748 does not have a reverse system, it does have a "ground fine" flat pitch system, which brings the props to 0, allowing for quite a bit of drag on landing, as well as less drag if you try to start on a particularly cold day or you're just having trouble getting the engines going. Nevertheless, putting the engines into flat pitch mode is done in much the same way as engaging reverse pitch (bringing the throttles below idle).

    My issue is that I don't know how to put a "detent" at the idle position to prevent myself from accidentally engaging flat pitch in flight. I can't seem to find any info on how to implement one either. Any ideas?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Detents

    I have used a small ball bearing and a spring that engages into a shallow hole to build a detent when making machine tools. I'm not sure how you need to implement the detent or how much room but the bearing and spring is a pretty standard method.

    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Detents

    My design isn't the most space efficient, but I'll look into your method and report back. I have quite a few springs, after all.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Detents

    Not aware of your physical layout/constraints. However, I used rare earth Neodymium magnets to get a detent on my 737 speed brake lever.

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Detents

    See my previous thread "Throttles" for a photo of my layout. The design is temporary and very "homemade" looking, to put it diplomatically. Could you show me pictures or a diagram of you magnet setup?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Detents

    Sorry, but I cannot get a worthwhile picture of this. Looking at your throttle, what I did was to fix a magnet to the inside of the throttle lever (in the correct detent position) then another magnet on the framing to the inside of the lever. You will need to experiment on the correct sizes but the magnets are cheap. Just make certain that the magnets are the correct way around to "attract" and keep a small gap between them as they lock together very well if touching

  7. #7
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,487
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Detents

    The way Shawn described is exactly the same method I use and would suggest!
    Cheers Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Throttle Detents

    Fully agree and it was the way I originally intended to go. However, it would have required dismantling the throttle again. Hence a simple solution, albeit not as good