Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict skino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    349
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Arduino, how many buttons and encoder?

    I would like to build my 777 MCP with Arduino. The ads are not a problem that I do with a shift register. But can I check 20 or more buttons and some encoder with a single Arduino? Maybe as a matrix?

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Evansville, Indiana
    Posts
    243
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Arduino, how many buttons and encoder?

    You can with an Arduino Mega.

    My MCP has 6 encoders, 15 push buttons, 4 switches, and 17 LEDs.
    My displays are max7219 driven, 7 segment display modules that utilize 3 pins on the arduino.
    Encoders use 2 arduino pins each.


    ~Fess
    I will only ever be, half the Geek that I wished I was.
    TheGeekForge.Com

  3. Thanks skino thanked for this post
  4. #3
    300+ Forum Addict skino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    349
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Arduino, how many buttons and encoder?

    Thanks for your answer.
    How much Arduinos do you have in the MCP? I would be interested to know how you run the encoder. Own software? Also, the matching Sketch for the Mega would interest me.

  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie


    BushPilotWannabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Arduino, how many buttons and encoder?

    How about 8 rotary encoders, 9 pushbuttons and an 8 tactile switch 2 axis autopilot panel. Attached is a the back view of the throw away developement board with C172 fuselage switch panel. Check pins available for multi 16x2 LCD displays. This is much, much neater than the front side.


    encoders & fuselage panel.jpg
    ---CYXD ----- TWR --- GND ------ Closed
    ILS-- NDB -- 119.1 -- 121.9 ---- 11/2013

  6. #5
    300+ Forum Addict skino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    349
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Arduino, how many buttons and encoder?

    Nice, which Arduino Sketch you use for the encoder?

  7. #6
    75+ Posting Member anzabon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Moon Base
    Posts
    75
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Arduino, how many buttons and encoder?

    @Skino

    Would you like to take a look onto the MobiFlight solution?
    http://www.mobiflight.de

    I have my hole MCP and CDUs running via MobiFlight and Arduino... easy and stable.

    Regards,

    Bon

  8. Thanks skino thanked for this post
  9. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie


    BushPilotWannabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Arduino, how many buttons and encoder?

    The encoders circuit is basically eight examples of the single analog encoder daisy-chained positive pin to negative pin and all output pins joined together using only one pull up resistor. http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...740&highlight= The sketch is two analogReads of pin A0 and a whole bunch of " if(pinLevel == (X +/-2) Serial.println( the corresponding command ); . Once you have analogRead levels for all encoders, you never want to change anything. I am two weeks behind posting a single analog output for the multi position rotary switch. I will do that and rewrite the thread above before posting a detailed accounts of the multi analog encoders and the analog fuselage switch panel.
    ---CYXD ----- TWR --- GND ------ Closed
    ILS-- NDB -- 119.1 -- 121.9 ---- 11/2013

  10. Thanks skino thanked for this post
  11. #8
    300+ Forum Addict skino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    349
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Arduino, how many buttons and encoder?

    Thanks for the replies.
    You've expanded the encoder, clever.
    I read the encoder now in the software from which the Arduino is controld (own VB program). In Arduino I use the encoder simple as 2 buttons. Not as flexible as your solution but perfectly adequate for me.


    Can Mobi Flight read the PMDG 777 (SDK Values) ? I have not yet found on the website

  12. #9
    75+ Posting Member anzabon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Moon Base
    Posts
    75
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Arduino, how many buttons and encoder?

    Yes, I guess it can! There are other simmers with experiences using MF and PMDG 777. Simply look into the forum for PMDG 777 posts like this:

    http://www.mobiflight.de/forum/message/671.html

    Bon

  13. Thanks skino thanked for this post
  14. #10
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Arduino, how many buttons and encoder?

    Hi Skino, I am working in a multiplexing circuit for arduino uno, expand up to 128 ports, out or in.




    The electronic circuito is already tested, but still need to complet the arduino code.
    Any CI 74LS245 have 8 ports, you can set to be out or in.
    I use the Proteus software for circuit maker, if you want, download the current circuit on this link https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resi...int=file%2cDSN (need proteus).
    And here the arduino code (no finished). https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resi...int=file%2cino
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. Thanks skino thanked for this post
    Likes Ronan Weber, skino liked this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast