Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    FR, Toulouse
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Joysticks not working

    Hi everyone,

    I'm feeling ashamed while posting this question but, I tried everything without success : I can't make my joysticks work ! No movement is shown on displays.

    Of course I have used FMGS_Config to set correct axis for CPT controls, thrust levelers, and spoilers & flaps. I also set error around detents. (Edit : I did multiple times in case near values may cause problems)


    fmgs_config.png


    The context is a new install from version 38.6 on two computers. I tried to re-use the joystick config file of an old working install (36.2), but equals.

    I can start FMGS server and clients, I can start APU and engines but with non-idle thrust leveler. The F/CTL page of SD displays no movement at all, neither the flaps/spoilers, with engine 1 off & on.

    Any idea ?

    Thanks, and sorry for that question !
    Stephane

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    FR, Toulouse
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Joysticks not working

    A little up for this thread

    I'm up-to-date at this date (v38.9 04/20/2015)
    I also tried with Avast and windows firewall disabled.

    I would appreciate any help !

    Thanks
    Stephane

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,426
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Joysticks not working

    Hello,

    6000 as a detent error zone seems exagerated, on a a joystick moving from 0 to 32768 you should use error zones of maximum 1000.
    If your detents overlap because of too large error zones, then the result will be highly unpredictable.

    As for your other axis, this is hard to tell. It works for everyone else, so I guess you're doing something wrong somewhere...
    Some reminders:
    - you should not be running FMGS config alongside the FMGS software, as it will make conflicts in the files etc...
    - you should use the FMGS config file located in the FMGS Server folder of the version you use.
    - you must not forget to save your new calibration...
    - the control surfaces will move only if there is hydraulics and electrical power
    - Also, in case you run the software manually, the AP/FBW is required
    - you should use FSXstarter.exe if you run FSX/P3D (not starter.exe which is only for FS9).

    JL

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    FR, Toulouse
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Joysticks not working

    Hi,

    Thank you for your answer.
    Unfortunately, I'm compliant with all the points you give.

    If I take an old version (B35) there's no problem, all (my three) joystick inputs work. I also tried to reset and set again the throttle assignments on the B35 install, and it works again. But nothing with the fresh installed B38.9 version (I'm not telling this version has problems).

    I'll continue my investigations, trying to mix config/binaries files involved in joystick control, to find the(s) file(s) in fault. I'll also check other intermediate versions...

    Thanks again
    Stephane

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,426
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Joysticks not working

    Do you use administrator rights when running the software? this is mandatory since the 38.x version series.

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    FR, Toulouse
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Joysticks not working

    Yes, my PC1 (FSX + FMGS) is under Win7, normal account, but FMGS is running as admin, FSX not. My PC2 is under XP with an admin account.

    Perhaps a tip : The controls seems to be locked in full/zero positions :
    • Pitch : full up
    • Roll : full left
    • Yaw : full left
    • Throttle : TOGA


    screenshot.png

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,426
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Joysticks not working

    the tip is not at the flight controls I think, the big issue in your screenshot is:
    -how can you have G and Y hydraulics when both engines seem shut down?
    you probably have an issue with connection to FSX. Which version of FSX do you use? And also are you sure you use StarterFSX (and not starter)?

    JL

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    FR, Toulouse
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Joysticks not working

    Yes, I'm using StarterFSX.

    I admit I may do something wrong when starting up the aircraft (because of my knowledge). What I've done to get this screenshot is just switching on batteries, start the APU, and mannually start the PTU, which actually make control indicators green (Ok, I realize it may not be enought to get hydraulic power).

    Before that test, I used to fully start the engines, but since I'm locked in TOGA without any controls, I can't experiment tests for a long time because of aircraft crashes.

    Sometimes, I had warnings in the WideFMGS (I'm at work, can't remember which one), but since I usually have these from when I have started using your soft, I wasn't worried about that. I'll tell you what messages I get tonight.

    Thanks again for your help

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    FR, Toulouse
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Joysticks not working

    So, this is the messages I get in the second PC (see below) WideFMGS log :

    *****WideFMGS client started at:19:33:33.218
    Create result:1
    Host IP: 192.168.0.1
    **19:34:20.515** Port 8003: connected
    **19:34:20.515** Port 8004: connected
    **19:34:20.515** Port 8005: connected
    **19:34:43.453** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:43.468** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:44.812** MsgListMutex timed out
    **19:34:45.265** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:46.765** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:46.781** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:46.890** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:47.140** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:49.93** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:52.31** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:53.531** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:53.546** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:55.265** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:34:55.281** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:36:3.515** MsgListMutex timed out
    **19:36:20.593** MsgListMutex timed out
    **19:37:22.578** MsgListMutex timed out
    **19:37:41.62** MsgListMutex timed out
    **19:38:54.15** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:38:59.109** MsgListMutex timed out
    **19:39:6.421** MsgListMutex timed out
    **19:39:45.156** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:40:5.953** MsgListMutex timed out
    **19:40:21.828** MsgListMutexMain2 timed out
    **19:40:56.953** MsgListMutex timed out
    For information, this is my setup : on the FSX PC I have installed :
    - FMGS Server and AP/FBW
    - FSX/P3D Support
    - SIOC Support (not used yet)


    On the second PC :
    - Overhead interface
    - PFD Captain side
    - ND Captain side
    - EWD
    - SD
    - Software FCU
    - MCDU Captain side
    - Sound modules

    I launch FMGS_Config while all the software were running, just to check that joystick input is available at that time, and I could see movments on it.

    As soon as possible, I'll read manuals again to ensure I forgot nothing.

    Stephane

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    France,Nice
    Posts
    2,426
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Joysticks not working

    I need to have a look at the file c:\A320FMGS\FMGS Server\FMGSserverLog.txt
    However, since you're the only one with this problem I can only think of something you're not doing correctly...
    Please try to reinstall from scracth, and do not use older versions files configuration.
    Make sure the Antivirus is OFF when you install.

    EDIT: by the way, did you set a reverse detent?

    JL

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast