Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Terrain ahead alarm when taking of and landing

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    FR, Toulouse
    Posts
    26

    Question Terrain ahead alarm when taking of and landing

    Hi to everyone,

    I have a problem that I don't really know if it's a bad-using issue or a bug.

    I can hear the "terrain ahead" alarm rang out, just after the take off and before landing.
    I have tested this at :
    • Taking off on runway 8 at LFPO
    • Landing on rw 26 at LFPO
    • Landing on rw 32R at LFBO


    I've hosted a video of the landing at LFBO. If anybody can see what's happening... I have RTFM (read the f* manual ) but there's nothing about this alarm, and, in the past I tried other A320 models (FSX/Xplane) and the alarm didn't raise in such situation.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2w0o...ature=youtu.be

    I don't know if it could have something to do with, but I also can't see interesting points on ND when I select them (Stars, VOR, NDB, Airport) despite I have no problem to make a flight plan (I have imported the nav data and can access it through the MCDU)

    I'll appreciate any feedback
    Thanks
    Stephane

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    East Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    255

    Re: Terrain ahead alarm when taking of and landing

    An old post but no reply, I get the terrain warning as soon as I take off, very annoying, anyone got an answer?
    Barry
    www.a320sim.com

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie masterp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Ho Chi Minh City
    Posts
    224

    Re: Terrain ahead alarm when taking of and landing

    I got the same terr warning , but just random.
    I Have to turn off GPWS SYS to deactivate that warning sound.

  4. #4
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    9

    Re: Terrain ahead alarm when taking of and landing

    Hi everybody,
    a really old thread, but nowone seems to have solved it yet.
    I have exactly the same problem like Stephane but only since my last update to version B52.0. I tried each and everything to solve it but didn't succeed.
    I even went back to version B49 and B50.1 which both worked perfectly before but same bug every time i start or land and no more airports or navaids on my ND.
    Even switching off GPWS SYS has no effect.
    I am desperate and short before burning my whole cockpit.

    Anyone any idea?

    I would appreciate very very much.

    Uli

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Krefeld, GER
    Posts
    193

    Re: Terrain ahead alarm when taking of and landing

    I believe the terrain data and the nav data from the EFIS are two different things.
    But if both issues also now occur on the old FMGS versions, which worked before, then I guess it has to do with the data configuration.

    Suggest to start with the EFIS data:
    Did you recreate the bin files? on all PC?

    once this is working check the terrain data. if it's still not working, try to delete and reassign the terrain files.

  6. #6
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    9

    Re: Terrain ahead alarm when taking of and landing

    Thanks for your reply, Michael.
    Yes I deleted all bin files, let the server build new ones and copied them to all computers.
    I also deleted all EGPWS terrainfiles and let them rebuild by the egpws_data_extractor.
    What do mean by "reassign the terrain files"? I thought i just need to let the extractor save the files in the respective folder under A320FMGS\EIS.
    That was the way it worked perfectly in former versions.
    Thanks for any kind of help.

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Krefeld, GER
    Posts
    193

    Re: Terrain ahead alarm when taking of and landing

    hm, that's really strange

    Would still concentrate on the EFIS data for the moment. Don't you see any of them (Way points, Airports,.VOR, etc)?
    Do you see the corresponding AIRAC on the MCDU Start page?

  8. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    9

    Re: Terrain ahead alarm when taking of and landing

    Indeed, none them on the ND, no matter wether i use my hardware or the soft FCU panel to select them.
    MCDU shows the correct AIRAC cycle, i can choose all NAV data from the database when editing a flightplan, the FP is shown on the ND in PLAN mode and in NAV modes.
    AP works perfectly in managed mode and terrain is depicted correctly on ND when i activate TerrOnND.
    That's the reason why i don't believe in missing or wrong or corrupted databases.
    Really strange!

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Krefeld, GER
    Posts
    193

    Re: Terrain ahead alarm when taking of and landing

    well, now I enter the "wild guessing" stage... try updating your graphics card driver???

  10. #10
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    9

    Re: Terrain ahead alarm when taking of and landing

    SOLVED !!!

    Indeed two different reasons for the two bugs.

    1. Michael, your "wild guess" wasn't that bad. While experimenting i already had that idea, too and i reset my Radeon GPU to factory settings. This lead to a reactivation of the autostart of the Radeon Catalyst Control Center what i didn't realize. The CCC consumes (pain in the a...) about 90% of the PC resources that's why i deactivated it before and the system worked before. I now had a memory overflow and all displays (PFD, ND, MFD, ...) on my "captain client" stopped working properly. Deactivated CCC autostart and everything's back.
    2. The terrain ahead warning while start and landing was independent of this problem. I run FSC9 on another client and use it as flight planer, fuel calculator, information handbook for ARPT charts and frequencies and as moving map while flying. I accidentially activated the GPS window in FSC9 and didn't realize because it was minimized. Now the FSC9 GPS engine interfered with the jeehell FMGS and lead to the terrain warnings.

    So everthing is fine now but nevertheless i will wait for a final version of 52 before changing again.

    Many thanks to Michael for your interest and your patience. Good to know that there a guys out there who care about simmer's problems. Whish you many happy landings.

    Uli

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast