Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    CPDLC plugin (ACARS)

    Stumbled upon this -- http://www.dalpi.de/joomla/index.php...d=61&Itemid=82

    Anyone successfully using this with their Jeehell FMGS build?

    Regards.
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bremen / Germany
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CPDLC plugin (ACARS)

    Hi OmniAtlas,

    yes, I do. It's a great tool. I am not using the ATC functions but all the rest, especially the ACARS + printing functionality. Wouldn't miss it any more. And Chris is giving great support.

    Stefan

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CPDLC plugin (ACARS)

    Hi Stephen, any idea where I can find airports.dat, wpnavaid.txt, and wpnavfix.txt? Apparently these need to be copied over from your navdata provider (I am using aerosoft) but I am unable to find the files.

    Thanks.
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bremen / Germany
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CPDLC plugin (ACARS)

    Quote Originally Posted by OmniAtlas View Post
    Hi Stephen, any idea where I can find airports.dat, wpnavaid.txt, and wpnavfix.txt? Apparently these need to be copied over from your navdata provider (I am using aerosoft) but I am unable to find the files.

    Thanks.
    Hi Omni,

    these files are still used from the old navdata procedure - where JL also used the Level-D-767 navdata. If you download and install these Level-D navdata, you should find the 4 files. I am not updating them right now because I am not using the ATC functionality.

    Stefan

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CPDLC plugin (ACARS)

    The Level-D navdata is from navigraph and not aerosoft?

    Are there any ATC on vatsim which use this system? I am hoping it will be useful during World Flight 2014.

    On the server.ini shoudl I remove the colon from the line --

    ;0=VATSIM 1=IVAO

    What function does this do?

    Thank you.
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bremen / Germany
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CPDLC plugin (ACARS)

    During the time when I still used the LevelD data, I had a subscription at Navigraph. I switched over to Aerosoft once JL moved to Aersosoft, so I have not updated CPDLC navdata since then. But I am assuming the LevelD result files should be the same from Navigraph and Aerosoft.

    I don't know how this text mode of ATC is already used at VATSIM. I am not flying online, so you better should ask Chris directly.

    Currently I do not have the whole server.ini at hand (still at work); I think this area controls from where the ATIS information is fetched. What are the line(s) below and above? Maybe the context of the INI file explains it. You should not remove the colon from this line as this is only a comment line. The line above or below actually controls this area (something like ATIS=1 would fetch the data from IVAO, so you might need to set it to 0 in the other line to make it work with VATSIM).

    Stefan

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CPDLC plugin (ACARS)

    Ah thansk Stefan, Aerosoft doesn't use this format :-\

    I've left ATIS=0 (vatsim), and tested the weather function with my printer -- works!
    Which 'thermal' printer would you recommend (Skalarki might also have some panels to overlay the mini-printer?)

    Do you happen to understand these lines in the config file?

    ACRegistr=
    ALIdent2=
    ALIdent3=

    I understand ACRegistr would be your aircraft registration number, but what are ALIdent2 and ALIdent3 used for?

    Cheers
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bremen / Germany
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CPDLC plugin (ACARS)

    I think the weather does not come from IVAO or VATSIM, but not too sure. You should request an ATIS to check if that is coming from AVSIM. If an ATIS is available for the requested station, you will get a company message. Weather reports are always printed immediately.

    I am using EPSON TM-T20 as printer which I am very happy with. Currently it's standing beside the pedestal but it's not really big. Maybe later I will integrate it in the right lower part of the pedestal.

    You need to register yourself on some COM INIT page where these 3 values need to be entered. If they are always the same you can skip entering them before each flight and just maintain them on the server.ini file. On startup of the CPDLC software they are loaded automatically from the INI file.

    AL means airline, ALIdent2 is for the IATA code, and ALIdent3 for ICAO code of the airline (e.g. LH and DLH for Lufthansa). I have built a small routine which fills the server.ini automatically before each flight according to the planned flight and selected livery.

    Also very nice is the Journey Log function within this software: Block and air times are automatically recorded. You can send them also to Chris' server and see an online table of your flights. You should check with him as you need a user ID and a password for sending this data, there is currently no online registration yet, all still in Beta. These credentials can also be entered in the server.ini.

    Stefan

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,051
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CPDLC plugin (ACARS)

    Thanks Stefan,

    I can't request to ATIS because there never seems to be any ATC logged into the system? I have been checking on http://www.hoppie.nl/acars/system/log.html

    I will experiment further. Regards.

    PS -- found this post -- http://www.vier-im-pott.com/index.ph...l-data-printer
    Soarbywire - Airbus Flight Simulation and Engineering | Jeehell FMGS - Free professional A320 avionics software for the cockpit enthusiast.


  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bremen / Germany
    Posts
    192
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: CPDLC plugin (ACARS)

    Hi,

    the ATIS has nothing to do with ATC being logged on to Hoppie Acars Network. ATIS is coming from VATSIM or IVAO directly. If you can check which ATIS are available at VATSIM right now, you can try one of those. I just checked with NZAA which is online right now and I got an up to date ATIS delivered.

    After any ATIS request you may want to look into the CPDLC server folder for the latest file there beginning with atis_. Open this file and check for "_ATIS:" to find all the available ATIS stations for the moment.

    In fact, the real ATC function is not fully used yet by the online ATC organisations. I think this makes it difficult to use the ATC text version on a regular basis. This might be different for special events, but I don't know exactly. You need to ask Chris, he is flying on VATSIM as well. I know that he tried to organize some text ATC on VATSIM when he was on the Paderborn fair with his cockpit last year.

    Stefan

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast