Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    OC MCP V3 usb problems

    I have just received the MCP Ver 3. But when I plug this into a USB Powered hub windows 7 home premium does not recognise it as a devise !

    any ideas what could be causing it, I have tried it in all the USB ports on the motherboard with the same issue.

    thank you for any help.

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member Roarkr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Asker Norway
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC MCP V3 usb problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Cleme View Post
    I have just received the MCP Ver 3. But when I plug this into a USB Powered hub windows 7 home premium does not recognise it as a devise !

    any ideas what could be causing it, I have tried it in all the USB ports on the motherboard with the same issue.

    thank you for any help.
    Have you connected the 5V Power Supply to the MCP?
    Roar Kristensen rksoftware www.flightsim4fun.com
    Flightsimmer since 1982 (Sinclair Spectrum Sinclair QL, Amiga, PC --16Mhz >>4.4GHz)

  3. #3
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC MCP V3 usb problems

    Yes the 6v power supply that came with the unit is plugged in, I have also bought a 6v power supply from the Uk to see if this made a difference.
    But still Windows will not recognise the devise, I have also tried it on another Windows 7 PC and one with Windows XP on and these do not see it as a devise.

    opencockpits support is rather slow in returning e-mails !

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC MCP V3 usb problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Cleme View Post
    Yes the 6v power supply that came with the unit is plugged in, I have also bought a 6v power supply from the Uk to see if this made a difference.
    But still Windows will not recognise the devise, I have also tried it on another Windows 7 PC and one with Windows XP on and these do not see it as a devise.

    opencockpits support is rather slow in returning e-mails !
    You have to be careful how you plug it in +5v. I can't plug it in all the way or it won't work. Also remember it's +5v on the tip.

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC MCP V3 usb problems

    Make sure you plug directly in to the usb port and not via Hub to test.
    Les

  6. #6
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC MCP V3 usb problems

    Thank you for the posts, but still no luck !

    i have tried ever Usb on my PC but the MCP cannot be recognised as a devise.

    Frustrating Ah.

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC MCP V3 usb problems

    Have you tried another cable?. Do you get any acknowledgement from window when you plug the module in?.
    What I mean is do you get the windows chime or a message popping up saying the device isn't recognized.
    les

  8. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC MCP V3 usb problems

    Hi Les

    No I have not tried another cable, the unit I have has its own box and the Usb
    cable is soldered to the pcb board. The cable appears to be soldered onto the pcb ok !

    Windows does not recognise the Usb with any chime or error message at all.
    I get power to the unit ok as the backlight LEDs and some of the push button LEDS are lit when powered up, I have tested the power supply and I am getting a constant 6 volt from it.

    Any other ideas ?

    Andy

  9. #9
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Nottingham UK
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC MCP V3 usb problems

    We have had some luck, windows recognised it as an MCPV3 for 2 mins then gave an error Code 43 and changed it to an unknown device.

    does this sound like a faulty unit ?

    thanks

    Andy

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC MCP V3 usb problems

    Andy,
    I think you have done all you can. Re the cable, if its soldered in then it should be ok. I think the best idea is to return it.
    There has been a few threads from people over the years with comments like yours. Some have returned their units and
    then all is ok and others never bother to let us know the outcome. I have heard of people having trouble with USB ports
    and o/c modules but as you have tried several pc's it is not a pc issue.
    Cheers
    Les

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast