Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    England
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Need help with what spec my new PC should be!!

    Hi guys! Its time for the next step for me and start to build my own cockpit in the spare room. My pc at the min just abouts runs fsx with a couple of add ons. Im looking to buy a new one with the view to running 4 screens for my glass cockpit, plus one projector. Also i will be have various hardware and software addons to make it a realistic 737-800. As a starting point will the spec on this computer be okay and not slow me down?
    thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    MyCockpit Support Staff dodiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    El Salvador
    Posts
    992
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need help with what spec my new PC should be!!

    I recommend if you can instead of a Hard Disk use an SSD! Runs everything Faster and 16GB OF RAM more than enough!!

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    England
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need help with what spec my new PC should be!!

    Thanks for reply, Will this happily power eveyting id need on 1 pc for building my own cockpit?

  4. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff dodiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    El Salvador
    Posts
    992
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need help with what spec my new PC should be!!

    You need to add more details bud! What software will you be using?? IFLY? PMDG?

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    England
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need help with what spec my new PC should be!!

    Im thinking of using ifly, with ifly cockpit builders additition aswel. Im going to build my own overhead panel so will need something to configure that if ifly cockpit builder doesnt... Mabey PM or prosim737. Also hoping on running vatsim aswel
    thanks

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need help with what spec my new PC should be!!

    16 Gb is overkill for FSX, it doesn't use more than 8.Get RAM with the fastest cas latency you can find. Second, instead of using two cards in SLI buy one, for your processor it should be a GTX 780.
    I have the same specs and it can take anything I throw at it.
    Gigabyte GA-Z97X - Intel i7 4790K@4,6 GHz - GSkill TridentX F3-2400C9D-8GTXD - 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 120GB - Seagate SSHD 2TB - Asus GTX780 DC2 OC 3GD5 - Windows 10 Professional 64

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    England
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need help with what spec my new PC should be!!

    Im wanting to run 6 screens in total, thats the reason i went for the 2 graphics cards. But if i lower the RAM I i should be fine with what i have powering 6 screens ifly prosim PM etc plus hardware?
    Thanks

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need help with what spec my new PC should be!!

    I wouldn't connect 6 screens to my flight sim pc. I'd use two more pc's with wideview, they don't have to be very powerfull.
    8Gb is fine, especially with just prosim etc.
    Gigabyte GA-Z97X - Intel i7 4790K@4,6 GHz - GSkill TridentX F3-2400C9D-8GTXD - 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 120GB - Seagate SSHD 2TB - Asus GTX780 DC2 OC 3GD5 - Windows 10 Professional 64

  9. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    England
    Posts
    21
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need help with what spec my new PC should be!!

    Sorry keep asking questions but as you can tell computers arnt my strong point. Whats needed to run more than 1 pc?

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Need help with what spec my new PC should be!!

    That's quite ok.
    I don't understand your question though, what do you mean what's needed ? Just make sure all the pc's can communicate over your network, wide view is a program that synchronizes the screens across your pc's : http://www.wideview.it/
    But then, maybe you don't want 6 screens for the outside view? In that case, nothing else is needed.
    Gigabyte GA-Z97X - Intel i7 4790K@4,6 GHz - GSkill TridentX F3-2400C9D-8GTXD - 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 120GB - Seagate SSHD 2TB - Asus GTX780 DC2 OC 3GD5 - Windows 10 Professional 64

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast