Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    124
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Basic questions from newbie about software

    Hi guys,

    Very new here so forgive my ignorance .... the journey begins with the cockpit dream for the Airbus... I have serached and read heaps but still need to ask the following...

    To start with, could i ask some simple questions...

    The Jeehell software which i have downloaded, can i install that on my PC as is and use it virtually (no hardware at present) and the suggested flight model from the airbus suggested?

    My setup is 2 x 27" monitors linked together via a splitter and 2 x 18" monitors below them for gauges and such...

    I am wanting to see if the software works and i can use the undocked gauges on the bottom 2 screens and have the top 2 screens as "scenery only" view...

    I realize my VRInsight FCU is not compatible so wont use that...

    I have plans to eventually get a full scale MIP and position the gauges behind it at some stage and the proper hardware...

    Can all of this be done with one PC or do i need an additional PC to run things? My setup is i7 4.6Ghz...so should be powerful enough?

    Any comments or suggestions would be most appreciated as i get started!

    Thanks guys

    Doug

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,048
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Basic questions from newbie about software

    Yes you can Doug, a lot of us are doing that and slowly building our cockpit

    See this video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FADQ1fZjLjg

    You can launch the gauges, ND, PFD, etc and arrange them around as you wish.

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    124
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Basic questions from newbie about software

    Thanks for that... and the video, most interesting...

    Next on my mind as my good wife gave me the go ahead with this and some dosh (yay!) is WHICH is the better hardware that is most user friendly to go with the software? I checked out Skalarki which seems to be most favored and easy to plug and play, then cockpit sonic hardware which is cheaper but am not sure if it requires electrical know how to install...

    In your experience, what seems to be the better option?

    Cheers once again!

    Doug

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,048
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Basic questions from newbie about software

    Skalarki.

    I have heard the support from cockpit sonic isn't so good (search this forum for some discussions).

    You might also look at flybycockpit - http://www.flybycockpits.com/

    I have a sidestick on order from Vitor. Although I have not received the items yet, they look top quality.

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    124
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Basic questions from newbie about software

    Great - thanks for that

    I took a look over at the Skalarki web page and there seems to be some good parts which are 'plug and play' USB units... nice and simple...

    As i wont be able to afford them all at once, if i just got the FCU, EFIS, MCDU....and use the Jeehells software for the gauges etc...how do you control the flaps and overhead etc? Do i need another monitor to show these things? Just a bit confused before i pull the money trigger!

    Cheers

    Doug

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,048
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Basic questions from newbie about software

    Quote Originally Posted by Vonduck View Post
    Great - thanks for that

    I took a look over at the Skalarki web page and there seems to be some good parts which are 'plug and play' USB units... nice and simple...

    As i wont be able to afford them all at once, if i just got the FCU, EFIS, MCDU....and use the Jeehells software for the gauges etc...how do you control the flaps and overhead etc? Do i need another monitor to show these things? Just a bit confused before i pull the money trigger!

    Cheers

    Doug

    Skalarki has has other plug and play components not listed on their website. For example their whole MIP is PNP (brake panels, gear, etc) so you don't need to buy a separate I/O board.

    For the overhead you can use the supplied 2d panel in the jeehell suite.
    Flaps can be assigned to any joystick button using the flaps increment/decrease joystick configuration or an axis.

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie SSO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    234
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Basic questions from newbie about software

    Hi,

    I am also slowly developing my setup.
    I have come to the following conclusion:
    - At least two PC's
    -- One for FS and Gauges you dont interact with (switching active application away from FS will mute FS and that is a disturbing factor in terms of realism)
    -- One for the rest.
    Will you fly online?
    I also started purchasing PnP boards but there is lots of money to be saved by assembling yourself. I thought time was most important, but buying piece by piece is really not stretching your budget as far as it can go.
    I have bought:
    - Stick and throttle: Thrustmaster Hotas A10
    - Radio module (RMP) - Cockpit Sonic - works as it should with JL.
    - FCU (Skalarki) - Arrives tomorrow or early next week after 12 weeks delivery time.
    A brief video of my setup (pre FCU):
    http://youtu.be/Tv_-2GvZW40

    I find the OH projector gives tremendous immersion into the flight experience.

    Good luck
    Cheers Stephen
    P3Dv4 Prof, FMGS A320, 1080p OH for ext. & 1080p 24" for int., TM Warthog, VATSIM (vPilot)

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    124
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Basic questions from newbie about software

    Hi Stephen,

    Thanks for chipping in.... a couple questions in my journey if i may...

    The thought of 2 PC's i must admit scares me... i have not the foggiest how to link them together to achieve one for instruments and one for P3D.. any ideas? Where to look? I have one powerful PC at the moment but could easily assemble a lesser version if need be?

    I do fly online on Vatsim which is the ultimate goal...

    Where do you get the PnP boards form and is it hard to assembly and connect them? I am not much of an electronic whizz sadly so this i must admit scares me too! The cost factor is welcomed and i like the suggestion but doubt my ability to pull it off ...

    I am very interested in the OH projector... does this give you a wrap around effect or a massive in fornt image? The immersion sounds ideal though... life size!

    I enjoyed the YouTube clip - thanks for sharing and would be interested in you comment on the FCU when it arrives and how it operates...

    What Airbus do you use when flying?


    Thanks Stephen

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,048
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Basic questions from newbie about software

    Hi Doug,

    Its no problem flying on Vatsim, I am doing it as we speak (search for Ben Lim on vatstats.net for all my jeehell A320 flights

    Setting up on a network is also no problem -- it is done with WideFMGS which is in the FMGS\WideFMGS\ directory. You have to make sure your computer is on the same ipaddress (not dynamic); so set it up with a permanent number so WideFMGS does not get confused.

    I also recommend the projector, here is my currently flight

    photo.jpg

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,048
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Basic questions from newbie about software

    P.S -- you will need at least 2x projectors for a wraparound screen. I am using the BenQ W1080ST which is great because it is short-throw (which you need), and affordable.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast