Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    So I got a Bodnar BBI-32...

    ...and here's what I'm curious about: does one assign FS functions into it via FSUIPC? For buttons, switches and rotary encoders? I already have two PCBs that convert rotary switches to rotary encoders. I did get the software to configure its various terminals for rotary encoder pulse widths and intervals per 'click'. I'm just curious if anyone can lend insight as to how they got their BBI-32 going and if there's anything (quirks, etc.) I should be aware of during configuration. Many thanks!

    BTW, Leo, if you see this: much impressed! And thanks again!

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: So I got a Bodnar BBI-32...

    Go to Windows devices and printers and you'll see the BBI as just another joystick with 32 buttons.
    So go into FSUIPC/ buttons and switches, press or flip a switch you've connected and assign a function from the drop down list.
    Couldn't be easier. Of course you need the paid version of FSUIPC to be able to do that.

  3. Thanks Hoorf thanked for this post
    Likes Hoorf liked this post
  4. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: So I got a Bodnar BBI-32...

    Quote Originally Posted by tiburon View Post
    Go to Windows devices and printers and you'll see the BBI as just another joystick with 32 buttons.
    So go into FSUIPC/ buttons and switches, press or flip a switch you've connected and assign a function from the drop down list.
    Couldn't be easier. Of course you need the paid version of FSUIPC to be able to do that.
    Thank you, Tiburon! That greatly helps, I suspected so but wanted to hear from others who have this BBI-32 experience. I'll try to be light on questions and such, and yes, I do have paid-for FSUIPC, an incredible interface in its own right! Thank you very much!

  5. #4
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: So I got a Bodnar BBI-32...

    No problems, we've all been there

  6. Thanks Hoorf thanked for this post
    Likes Hoorf liked this post
  7. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: So I got a Bodnar BBI-32...

    Have you dealt with Bodnar's PCB disks which solder onto single-pole, 12 terminal rotary switches and reduce them from 13 wires to 2? I bought the disks, bare with no switches, intending to use my own rotary switches. Have you been this route yet? If so, anything I should keep in mind regarding how they mount to the switches? Again, greatly appreciated!

  8. #6
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: So I got a Bodnar BBI-32...

    They only mount in one posistion since the gnd pin on the rotary switches is off-center.

  9. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: So I got a Bodnar BBI-32...

    True that, but here's a scenario: I have some Lorlin rotary switches that are 4P3T, and, of course, they are convertible to any positions from 2 to 12. I can bridge the 4 poles together, but establishing which part of the PCB the switch's #1 terminal normally goes to (the terminals are numbered on the back of the switch) is the $64,000 question. I know the matter is pesky, but I'd rather use what I got rather than wait 3-4 weeks for 1P12T switches to come in on the slow boat from China. Any insight? I do appreciate the help you've given thus far, wanted you to know that. Thanks!

  10. #8
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: So I got a Bodnar BBI-32...

    The only thing I can think of is use a multimeter.
    I you bridge the poles you end up with a rather redundant 3 position switch:

    Rotary_Switch_4__4e252a69a44e9.jpg

    Martin

  11. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: So I got a Bodnar BBI-32...

    Quote Originally Posted by tiburon View Post
    If you bridge the poles you end up with a rather redundant 3 position switch:

    Rotary_Switch_4__4e252a69a44e9.jpg

    Martin
    It seems that when bridging the poles, one can also disassemble the switch and remove 3 of the 4 brushes inside, rendering the switch 1P12T. The breaks between the poles on the inside seem as though they would be of little to no consequence to the operation of the switch. I could be wrong, but time will tell.

    Also, I do appreciate the referencing of #1 on the switch, but was hoping someone had an idea of where the #1 position was on the Bodnar rotary switch PCB which Leo offers. Sorry if I didn't clarify myself there.

  12. #10
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: So I got a Bodnar BBI-32...

    Have you ever tried disassembling a rotary switch? I have and I much rather spend 3 euro's on a new one

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast