Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    75+ Posting Member
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Question New to Arduino...what did I get myself into?

Hello All.

Some time ago, I ordered a joystick controller board from the UK and began building my "switch box" to control landing gear, lights, flaps (up/down step), simple auto-pilot functions (pushbuttons), etc. In all I have 26 switch functions using momentary switches - pushbutton, toggle types. I am also designing a flight yoke using hall effect sensors and a throttle and rudder/brake system using potentiometers for this same board.

A month has past and the controller board has not arrived. In the meantime, I read about Arduino and the many things it is capable of. So I ordered 2 Mega 2560 boards. I think I bit off more than I can chew. I have some programming experience with VBasic and C++ but mostly scripting for the web in php and Javascript. I'm good at soldering and building.

The more I read about the Arduino, it seems I may have entered new territory way beyond my experience.

Looking at the specs, if the joystick controller board I ordered never arrives, can I use the Arduino 2560 Mega instead? I read that it has 54 digital I/O connections, but my switches and potentiometers are analog. So what can I do to utilize my switches, hall effect sensors and potentiometers...if anything?

Ultimately, I would like to incorporate more autopilot functions, as I am reading about in these forums, to include the IAS/MACH, HDG, ALTITUDE and V/S displays (LED) to use with the jets like 737 and 747. But I would like to start off with my switches to some capacity if that is possible. Then, I would like to add rotary controls to the autopilot setup and go from there.

So I guess to sum up my confusion and lack of true Arduino understanding: