Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    BETA TESTER RELEASE for Link2fs_Multi version 6x1

    OK Guys ,, User SimConnect and user FSUIPC input's and output's all done.

    More Annunciators ,, etc etc.

    Lot's of extra stuff.

    Input testing also added to just about every input system.

    This is an "Experimental" release and not intended for Guys still in the learning curve.
    You need to be experienced with version 5h and know how to work with it.
    There are no Doc's and no INO's attached.
    It's the main program with one extra card only (Card 4)
    The other cards will be added prior to main release.

    There is no need to have FSUIPC if you haven't got it.(That's only one section and it was only added to give a wider area of use)

    Lets know if there are any hick-ups.
    Let's know you Operating System and if you have FSUIPC or not.

    Reports that everything is fine are also 'nice'.

    If you feel brave ,,, you can get it here ,,,,
    www.jimspage.co.nz/shortterm/short_term_stuff.htm

    Have fun Guys ,,, the main build will take place after I get feed-back of any hick-ups.

    Good luck ,,, Jim
    Last edited by Jim NZ; 03-28-2014 at 04:13 PM.
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BETA TESTER RELEASE for Link2fs_Multi version 6x1

    I just started testing V6 and with only one exception every thing is going ok so far. I'm testing it now with my existing sketches and if that all goes ok I'm going to start messing with the new features.

    The one exception I ran into came when I sent a very long string of sim connect commands back to FSX. The app locked up and I could not disconnect the comport so I had to give it the three finger salute and stop it via the task manager. As it was shutting down the pop up appeared from underneath with the error message about needing a carriage return with each text string.

    I was able to replicate the problem and the same thing happened. I believe what I am seeing is that the pop up window is taking control so I can't do anything with the main window until I acknowledge the pop up by clicking ok. But, I can't do that because it is not on top of the main program, and I can't seem to move or minimize the program when this occurs.


    I've got an insanely busy weekend but I'm hoping to do some testing in between things. More to follow . . .
    https://www.facebook.com/mycessnasim PC: Intel Core i7 Haswell @ 3.8GHz, 8Gb Ram, Win 7 64Bit, dual SSDs, GeFroce 780 SIM: FSX w/Aclrtn Pk, FSUIPC4, ASN, UTX, GEX, REX 4

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BETA TESTER RELEASE for Link2fs_Multi version 6x1

    Hi Tom ,,, have you got a Linefeed after each simconnect code you send or are they all joined together with a Linefeed at the end ????
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BETA TESTER RELEASE for Link2fs_Multi version 6x1

    All have line feeds.

    After doing some additional testing what I suspect is happening is that the longer streams of sim connect codes something is interrupting the serial stream at a point part way through a code so that the linefeed is not seen. It seems to only occur rarely.

    However, regardless of what is actually causing it the fix would seem to be ensuring that the pop up error message is forced to always be on top.
    https://www.facebook.com/mycessnasim PC: Intel Core i7 Haswell @ 3.8GHz, 8Gb Ram, Win 7 64Bit, dual SSDs, GeFroce 780 SIM: FSX w/Aclrtn Pk, FSUIPC4, ASN, UTX, GEX, REX 4

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BETA TESTER RELEASE for Link2fs_Multi version 6x1

    I disagree Tom ,, the systems works and you found out what was wrong.

    There is only one way that error message can be made to appear and that is the receive buffer is full of characters and there are no linefeeds.
    Sure, sometimes it gets hidden and you don't see it until it all shuts down ,, but you still see it.
    It's been like that since version 5c.

    I could actually rework that area and make it more "user friendly" but I'm still at the stage of wanting to add more features rather than tidy up (rather ugly) hacks like that error message.

    For that error message to appear, there is something wrong with the coding in the INO ,, my program can't peel off linefeeds ,,, in actual fact ,, it's looking for them.

    Edit ,,, Thinking about this Tom ,,, another possible cause could be the data burst is just too long and my program can't process them fast enough and consequently the buffer still gets full ??

    It would have to be a BIG BIG burst tho. (More then 4096 bytes)
    Last edited by Jim NZ; 03-29-2014 at 04:19 PM.
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict Tom_G_2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    437
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BETA TESTER RELEASE for Link2fs_Multi version 6x1

    Jim, I don't question that it's the way my sketch is sending the stream of code. It's an issue I am trying to work on and will post about in another thread. It's the way my autopilot elevator trim servo code is sending feedback to FSX.

    And, I think you are correct that it's the length of the data burst. When you do have some cleanup bandwidth though it would be great if you could force that pop up message to stay on top. If it did I suspect I could manage the event with a simple mouse click rather then having three finger salute it and do a task kill.

    But, I understand your focus and prioritization and why this is low on the list.
    https://www.facebook.com/mycessnasim PC: Intel Core i7 Haswell @ 3.8GHz, 8Gb Ram, Win 7 64Bit, dual SSDs, GeFroce 780 SIM: FSX w/Aclrtn Pk, FSUIPC4, ASN, UTX, GEX, REX 4

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BETA TESTER RELEASE for Link2fs_Multi version 6x1

    Don't worry about testing any more of this release Guys ,, I have all the information I need now from another group of Guys ,, they seemed to be more pro-active.

    I will return when I have something to share.

    See ya then ,,, Jim
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Oss - Netherlands
    Posts
    61
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BETA TESTER RELEASE for Link2fs_Multi version 6x1

    Hi Jim,
    if you need more testing, i will happily help. I am out of the active cockpit building due to real life priorities, but testing your code I can do (and have done) just give a -call -
    Eric

  9. Thanks Jim NZ thanked for this post
  10. #9
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    109
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BETA TESTER RELEASE for Link2fs_Multi version 6x1

    Hi Jim,
    I just noticed an anomaly with the SimConnect inputs. When I send a number or frequency which has leading zeros, all the leading zeros get stripped off. For example, sending a transponder code of 0000, what actually gets received is A42 instead of A420000 and fsx displays a blank screen on the transponder. Is it possible to have L2fsx restore these leading zeros?

  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BETA TESTER RELEASE for Link2fs_Multi version 6x1

    Good find Steve ,,, I can fix that but the problem is really the data from the Arduino is being sent as an Integer rather than as characters.

    There's not many inputs involved so I'll have a dig into it.

    The one's that can have a leading zero are ,,,
    Nav1 ,, Nav1sb
    Nav2 ,, Nav2sb
    ADF1
    ADF2
    Transponder.

    Any more ????

    Jim
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast