Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Problem with Expansion Card

    I got a new Expansion Card kit about a month ago from Open Cockpits to expand my cockpit. It worked fine for a week or so. Then I started getting this error message on the task bar:

    "USB Device Not Recognized

    One of the USB devices attached to this computer has malfunctioned and Windows does not recognize it. For assistance in solving this problem, click this message."

    I tried a new cable, tried plugging in into a different computer, reseated all the ICs, checked all my solder joints. Could it possibly be a bad IC? If so, which one would windows fail to recognize?

    Jerry

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Expansion Card

    Jerry, it sounds to me like you have a driver problem. I had a similar problem with mine, for some reason it just quit working one day, had the same error message. I could not find anything wrong with it so On a hunch, I restored my pc to a previous date. From then on it worked fine. Give that a try before you start plugging new parts!

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Expansion Card

    I have 2 other Expansion Cards on this computer that are working fine. They are listed in the Device Manager as "HID-compliant device"s and "USB Input Device"s and in SIOC as Device 37 & 39. However the 3rd Expansion Card is listed under USB controllers as "unknown device" and when I unplug it that disappears. It was listed in SIOC as device 41. It looks to me like the PIC16C745 IC is defective. I don't think restoring my pc to a previous state would help since my other 2 cards are being detected.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Expansion Card

    Good point, I agree. I didn't realize you had the other cards as well. Sounds like you got a good handle on it. I'd be curious to see how it turns out for you.

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Expansion Card

    Hi Jerry

    i expect you have tried to swap the PIC....
    for verification.
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Expansion Card

    I assume that you have also swopped the USB ports around to see if the problem moves to another card.
    If you are still getting "unknown device" then go into control panel and delete the entry and let the pc rebuild the driver. Have you unplugged other devices to see if the expansion card then works?

    David

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Expansion Card

    Great advice David! Deleted the driver, unplugged and plugged in the Expansion Card, the driver reinstalled and its now showing up in SIOC as Device 46. Thanks

    Jerry

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Expansion Card

    Great, glad to help. Over the years I have had most reported OC card problems

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Expansion Card

    David

    The problem has resurfaced. I turned on my computer today and the Expansion Card is listed as Unknown Device again. I tried uninstalling the driver again but this time it didn't work. I'm getting this message in the Device Properties Box: "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)"

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Problem with Expansion Card

    Hi Jerry

    Oh Dear

    Do a search on the web for "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)" - there are a number of suggestions.

    I assume that you

    1.Are using a "good" powered hub, not a cheap Chinese one
    2. Have tried using different usb ports on your pc to see if the problem continues or not
    3. Are not overloading with too many devices
    4. Have tried "load shedding" to remove other devices to see if that solves it

    Good luck, sorry but not had this error message yet


    David

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast