Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: OC assignments

  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    OC assignments

    I finally got my oc cards to work, my usb and master are both working fine in the sioc screen. I loaded my first script, an on/off switch command for the battery master switch. The assigned terminal responds to the command in sioc. I don't know how to assign the switch in FSX. When I go to the switch assignments in fsx, the usb/master does not show as an option. I have installed fsupic and it shows active in the sioc screen. What have I missed?

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,198
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC assignments

    Quote Originally Posted by gspannelljr View Post
    What have I missed?
    You miss a link with FSX! Note that Switch assignments in FSX is only available for buttons at Joysticks. The USB expansion card is not a JoyStick... You can communicatie with FSX by using FSUIPC offsets. Here is an example of how to write to an FSUIPC offset from SIOC. You also have to find a suitable offset. This is dependent on your aircraft and how it is supported. I suggest to start with switch (landing) lights or something like that, most aircrafts support that.Nico

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC assignments

    Great,now I am starting to understand! Thanks!!!

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC assignments

    Can not emphasize enough how useful Nico's site and his howto's are.
    Just study the simple scripts and build from there.
    Les

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC assignments

    Ok, I found the variable I want to use, 3102, which is the master battery. I just don't understand where do I insert the variable, Ie, where do I insert the command? In Sioc? Please be patient, I am not a progamer....Yet!!!! But I'm learning. Can you suggest anything I can study to better understand the basics? Perhaps a book on C++? Thanks Again!

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC assignments

    Some understanding of basic programming is required,
    Like IF Else And Or statements.
    Do a Google search and the descriptions will help greatly.
    Go onto O/C forum under Sioc examples and you will a better idea of completed scripts.
    Here is a simple example of Battery switch



    Var 0015, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 16, Type I // Battery Switch
    {
    V0007 = V0015
    }
    Var 0007, Link FSUIPC_OUT, Offset $3102, Length 1 // Battery

    Les

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC assignments

    I Understand the need for the script as well as how to define one. I just don't know where to insert it. Do I put it in the sioc script file?

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC assignments

    Not certain what you are not understanding.

    If you want to have a switch hooked up to OC hardware eg a battery switch as above, and then pass that info to FSX then you need the following

    A script like the one above by Iwik (though change the switch input number to match your hardware) That script can be standalone or included within another script. However, your sioc.ini file must be given the name of the script that has the battery switch code included within it. You can do that either by editing the sioc.ini file as advised on another thread, or presumably by using config_devices, however, I do not use that utility.

    You will also need to have installed FSUIPC

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC assignments

    Quote Originally Posted by gspannelljr View Post
    I Understand the need for the script as well as how to define one. I just don't know where to insert it. Do I put it in the sioc script file?
    as an offer
    if you load and are happy to use teamviewer9 (standard helpdesk software - free) plus a side channel for speech - i am happy to spend some time putting your 1st script together and showing you where all the bits go as shown below
    Mike

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: OC assignments

    That's what I needed, what file to put it in. the sioc ini file. Ill let you know how it goes.
    BTW, I never got a reply from you on my last question in our previous thread in order to clarify my understanding of what you were suggesting. I do appreciate your help.
    Thanks!

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast