Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New Member



    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Wtiney Oxfordshire UK
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Please help an old man in distress

    Hi Jim and members all.
    I am suffering extreme stress trying to get Jim's 'Multi Radio Head' code to compile.
    I have imported the Quadrature library as per instructions.
    I have shut down the Aduino prog and restarted as advised.
    When I try to compile the compiler complains on this line quadrature quad1(8, 9); and I get this error "Quadrature.h no such file or directory".
    Any advise will be received with a great many thanks.

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Please help an old man in distress

    The Arduino IDE is not finding the Quadrature library so you must have put it in the wrong place.

    To check ,,,
    In the Arduino IDE ,, click on ,,,,
    "Sketch"
    "Import Library"
    You should see the option for "Quadrature"

    If it does show then the contents of that folder has not got the required files in it.

    No such thing as "old" ,, your probably a younger than me.

    Cheers ,, Jim
    Last edited by Jim NZ; 03-01-2014 at 04:46 PM.
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  3. #3
    New Member



    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Wtiney Oxfordshire UK
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Please help an old man in distress

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim NZ View Post
    The Arduino IDE is not finding the Quadrature library so you must have put it in the wrong place.

    To check ,,,
    In the Arduino IDE ,, click on ,,,,
    "Sketch"
    "Import Library"
    You should see the option for "Quadrature"

    If it does show then the contents of that folder has not got the required files in it.

    No such thing as "old" ,, your probably a younger than me.

    Cheers ,, Jim
    Jim, you are my Hero...
    For some reason the "Quadrature" library had two folders in it call Quadrature and Examples.
    The second Quadrature folder one has the .h, .cpp ect files.
    I moved them into the first Quadrature folder and Bingo, it works.
    Thank you, thank you, thank you.
    Now to complicate things I am going to try and convert your sketch to use an I2C lcd (just for fun you understand )
    As for Old, me, 68 this April, (old enough to know better, young enough not to care).
    Keep up the good work and thanks again.

    Richard

  4. Thanks Jim NZ thanked for this post
    Likes Sammy-E, BuzziBi liked this post
  5. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Williamson, GA, USA
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Please help an old man in distress

    Gee, young...I will be 78 this june and I still play with toy airplanes.lol
    We were meant to fly, even with a computer.

  6. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Rome, NY
    Posts
    19
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Please help an old man in distress

    You are never to old to play with toys. I'65 and have just got started.

  7. #6
    New Member



    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Wtiney Oxfordshire UK
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Please help an old man in distress

    Keep up the good work boys, 'flying' certainly keeps me on my toes.
    I am now making Jim's Multi Radio Stack but using a 20 by 4 line LCD.
    I am adding an Auto-pilot section to it, basically a mirror of the radio stack.
    When I get it 'tidy' I'll post some pic's.

  8. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Please help an old man in distress

    Hi, I realise that this is an old post, but I'm newly delving into arduino, and electronics. Jim, sterling work with your link program. I can't wait to start building. I've downloaded the Quad and radio files and successfully opened into arduino.
    I have a LCD shield, so have changed the inputs for that (8,9,4,5,6,7). However, in your code is 'Quadrature quad1(8,9);'. Please forgive what must seem like a silly question. Is (8,9) the arduino digital inputs? If so I will have a conflict? If so I should change to free digital pins, such as those in your image, pins 23-53 for example? Or does quad1(8,9) something else?

    The shield covers pins 10 upwards, although there are through pins for these this would make mounting flush impossible so the encoder will be re-routed in the 23 upwards free pins.

    Thanks for your hard work on your programming. I really can't wait to start building and flying, which are 2 of my fav things!

    Best wishes all
    Damo

  9. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie


    BushPilotWannabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Please help an old man in distress

    Quadrature quad1(x,x) links the named pins to the rotary encoder library. Avoid pin 13 but any other unassigned pins should work. Remove your new pin numbers from the list of pins scanned for other digital input.

    Hugh
    ---CYXD ----- TWR --- GND ------ Closed
    ILS-- NDB -- 119.1 -- 121.9 ---- 11/2013

  10. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Please help an old man in distress

    Hi Hugh
    Thanks for the prompt reply, so I assign the rotary encoder to digital pins 50 & 51, then amend to quad1(50,51), then amend 'for (int doutPin = 10; doutPin <=49; doutPin++) ??

    Thank you

  11. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie


    BushPilotWannabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Please help an old man in distress

    EDIT
    Arduino MEGA Pin D20 and pin D21 are used by SCL and SDA forI2C communication. Pins D50 through D53 are used by SPI communication and pins D0 and D1 are reserved any time serial communication is active. Simple isn't it. Any sketches that use these protocols will specify the use of specific pins, you will have to move any connection to these pins used for other purposes.

    Old post:
    That will work and leaves the SDA & SDL pins free for I2C communications if you have I2C backpacks for LCD displays and avoid the two GND pins.
    End old post.
    Last edited by BushPilotWannabe; 11-04-2015 at 11:04 PM. Reason: boy was I wrong
    ---CYXD ----- TWR --- GND ------ Closed
    ILS-- NDB -- 119.1 -- 121.9 ---- 11/2013

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast