Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    encoders for nav

    I am building an old style nav setup with encoders for the selections and transponder as well. I am wondering how to assign the funcitions in fsX. I looked at the assignments but couldn't find anything related to what \I am trying to do. Do I need the pro version of fsX? I have just the basic version.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member fsx-cockpit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    germany
    Posts
    81
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: encoders for nav

    Hi, are you familar with link2fs ?

    Familar with rotary encoders and stepper motor?

    You find on youtub many good videos use : arduino fsx

    cu chris
    Nothing gets me down - until my girlfriend say " Darling...please...garbage!" Homepage: www.fsx-cockpit.com

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: encoders for nav

    No, Im not familiar with link2fs. Willl it work with my opencockpits hardware and sioc? Ill check out u tube for the vids.

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: encoders for nav

    Hello gspannelljr

    I believe the easiest is to install FSUIPC and communicate with FSX
    using SIOC through FSUIPC statements.
    Look here for learning more: www.lekseecon.nl

    BTW - are you going to replace the NAV frq selectors with encoders?
    and how have you planned to display the resulting frq?
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    86
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: encoders for nav

    Yes, I planned to use the encoders for freq selection. I was hoping to still use the fixed digits you see on the front of the nav. However, I was trying to figure out how to synchronize the digits with the information the sim is seeing. I may have to replaced them with lcd's, right?

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: encoders for nav

    Hello gspannelljr

    I suggest you open up the unit and check if it's possible to use
    the rotary switches (which I expect it is) already installed.
    First of all - make up a wiring diagram of the internals and then
    deside what to do next.
    Of course you can replace all the old stuff but then the
    charming NAV radio module is "lost in space".

    In that case I would rather build a new modern NAV module

    Check this thread http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...ight=NAV+radio
    about a same kind of interface challenge though the unit is not as old as yours.
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  7. #7
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: encoders for nav

    Perik makes valid points, SIOC would be your best way forward with this, and you would need to open it up and get a multimeter on it to see what functions do what.

    Best of luck,
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk