Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Linear actuator suggestions

Hello,

I'm going to be building a motion platform using an aluminum box frame construction to keep it light. I have a basic idea of how I'm going to build it. I'm ordering a racing seat this weekend with sliding rails and will be starting a basic layout over the weekend.

I'm an Aerospace Machinist by trade with 34 + years experience. I have CNC machines available to build the project as well as a CAD / CAM system to design and generate programs. I also have all the material I need right in the machine shop.

What I really need help with is the type of linear actuator to purchase. I would like to move up to a 220 lb person plus 3 light weight monitors so I think the max I will be moving is 260 - 280 lbs. I will be building 3 DOF so 3 actuators.

Can anyone give me some ideas of actuators needed as well as a way of controlling them.

Thanks in advance.

Chippie

Re: Linear actuator suggestions

Hi,

For 3DoF systems there are several actuator options to choose from:

Many commercial platforms use the motor+gear+crank-arm method.
    See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czGIx6mkUQ8
    This method needs a stabilizing center post, with splint for avoiding unwanted yaw.

The force dynamics 3DoF system and its Czech brother http://www.motion-sim.cz/index.php/en uses long linear actuators that need to be quite stiff in sideways direction. Pulley-belt system.
    Flightsim setup: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pATsL3I2Wtg

Ian Hopper's mini platform is good DIY possibility: http://bffsimulation.com/platform3.php
    He also has the full 3DoF motion drive software and hardware, which works really well.

My generation IV 3DoF platform design uses balanced scissor type actuators that don't need a center post.
    http://simprojects.nl/diy_motion_platform_iv.htm