Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    boston ma
    Posts
    109
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    jim need some assistance please

    Hello Jim I just finished
    assembling your multi radio panel. with the excemption of the 10k pot for contrast. every thing is working as It should encoders buttons etc. with the exception of the lcd display it has power backlight but it is not displaying anything. is this because there is not pot attached. or did I miss something. I used your supplied code and wiring schematic for the uno.
    Thank you for any help with this. Im still very new to arduino infact this is my first project.

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    pt
    Posts
    66
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: jim need some assistance please

    it's probably due to the absence of the 10k potentiometer. without it i think you would not see anything

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    232
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: jim need some assistance please

    Hello.
    I'm sure Jim won't mind if I field this one. You either need the pot connected or you can use a resistor, 470 ohm - roughly, from the lcd contrast pin to +5v. Without one or the other, your lcd will not have any contrast and thus no display. The backlight should be on a separate set of pins and is not necessary for lcd operation.

    Hope this helps.

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    boston ma
    Posts
    109
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: jim need some assistance please

    jmeller and pirate thank you both for the reply. I only put jim in because I was using his code. thanks again and I look forward to asking a million more questions here. still a newb.
    Tm

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    boston ma
    Posts
    109
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: jim need some assistance please

    oh yeah heres a quick one for you guys. is it possible to run two 1602 lcd displays on one uno card at the same time?

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    232
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: jim need some assistance please

    You should also be able to share the same pins - with exception to the enable pin.

    Example:
    LiquidCrystal lcdx(rs, enable, d4, d5, d6, d7)
    LiquidCrystal lcd1(22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27);
    LiquidCrystal lcd2(22, 44, 24, 25, 26, 27);

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    boston ma
    Posts
    109
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: jim need some assistance please

    ok so I got home and retested the radio with the pot hooked up. now what I get is a fully lit lcd yellowish back light and a row of square blocks. but still not display of fsx data. any ideas.

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    232
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: jim need some assistance please

    I would presume the pot needs adjusted because there is too much contrast? Before attempting to extract FS data, build a simple sketch to print "hello" at start up. This will verify operation of the lcd.

  9. #9
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    boston ma
    Posts
    109
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: jim need some assistance please

    When you say adjust I'm assuming you mean turning the knob? If so I did do that if I turn the knob left the screen stays lite and the blocks fade out and if I turn it right the screen stays lite and the row of blocks get darker. I will try the hello test when I get home currently sitting in a highway sander for who knows how long. Gotta love that new england weather fifty on wed and 6-12 inches of snow today.

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    boston ma
    Posts
    109
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: jim need some assistance please

    Ok so I got everything working it seems the way that it should how ever im experiencing a lot of lag in between button presses and rotary turns. if I push in the rotary switch it take a little bit of time to realize that I have done so. any suggestions?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast