Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member BuildABoeing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    79
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Online (VATSIM) squawk mode

    Has anyone figured out how to get the squawk mode to work with FSX when flying online?

    I have a transponder unit in the pedestal, interfaced via SIOC (And Prosim737). And I use FsInn when flying online (on Vatsim).

    The transponder code works fine. What I tune on the pedestal is also transmitted online.
    But I am unable to figure out how to change between Squawk mode STBY and Charlie via the pedestal.

    I have found some FSUIPC offsets, but as far as I understand this only worked in FS9.

    Is there anyway to get change the squawk mode via the pedestal for online flights when using FSX?

    Cheers Peter
    Best wishes, Peter
    Building a B737NG - Blog: BuildABoing

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    127
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Online (VATSIM) squawk mode

    Peter,

    I am using my pedestal to change from standby to active.
    The difference is that I am using squawk box to communicate with vatsim.

    My xponder switches access the squawk mode via FSUIPC. I didnt have to manually configure any offsets as fsuipc already has built in access to squawkox functions such as PPT, ident, squawk and standby.


    Tom

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,107
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Online (VATSIM) squawk mode

    I believe FSInn does not allow for this function but sqwark box works fine. Perhaps the newer clients develop for p3d will address this issue.

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member BuildABoeing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    79
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Online (VATSIM) squawk mode

    And you are using FSX?

    Sounds like I must return to Squawkbox.

    How do you get the transponder and FSUIPC to communicate? Via SIOC?
    Care to share the code?

    And does any of you run SquawkBox on a second computer?
    Best wishes, Peter
    Building a B737NG - Blog: BuildABoing

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,107
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Online (VATSIM) squawk mode

    Quote Originally Posted by BuildABoeing View Post
    And you are using FSX?

    Sounds like I must return to Squawkbox.

    How do you get the transponder and FSUIPC to communicate? Via SIOC?
    Care to share the code?

    And does any of you run SquawkBox on a second computer?
    I was using FSX, transitioning over to P3D

    I don't use squawkbox because of the poor animations (never could see the gears and lights working). I can't comment on how to make squawkbox work with your transponder -- I have just heard it has worked for some (if you check the cp flight one website it says their transponder is compatible with squawkbox).

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    193
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Online (VATSIM) squawk mode

    Peter,

    Don’t give up so easly on FSInn and FSX.
    I have run like this for many years - even running ATC on a remote PC and it’s fully doable.

    Here is a simple SIOC code using the FSUIPC JoyStick & Button interface.

    Code:
    // Each IDENT push is toggling a BUTTON in FSUIPC
    //
    Var 536 Static name XPDRSTB Link IOCARD_SW Device 0 Input 16 Type I
    {
      &FO_JoyStick64 = CHANGEBIT 0 v536
    }
    Var 9000 name FO_JoyStick64 Link FSUIPC_OUT Offset $3340 Length 4
    Check FSUIPC documentation for more information about offset $3340 if needed.

    Then enter FSCopilot in FSX Menu and select "settings".
    Scroll down the list and you'll see SquawkIDENT which is the one I use.
    Set a HotKey for this function. I selected Leftshift+F9.
    You can pick any function you need and set Hotkeys accordingly - it all depends
    on which switches are implemented. I use just a pushbutton to toggle the IDENT.

    Next will be to enter FSUIPC and the menu "Buttons + Switches".
    Hit your hardware switch for IDENT and it should show up in the top line.
    (Be sure that your SIOC IDENT code is up and running).

    Then hit the key(s) to be sent for this "button" in the window underneath.
    In my case I hit Leftshift+F9
    Now check that the C/S/I marker either on local or remote FSInn window responds to
    your switch – if not "call" me

    That’s all actually....
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member BuildABoeing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    79
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Online (VATSIM) squawk mode

    Hej Per-Erik.

    I didn't see your message before tonight.
    Over the last two evenings I managed to get Squawkbox working with FSX on a networked PC with both working PTT and Squawk Mode.
    Took me quite some time. SimConnect was a bit*h to set up. But now it is working. But I still have to work a bit on AI traffic/multiplayer traffic. In yesterdays storm all ACFT was white VIP-planes. But I ran some sort of tool last night, and will try to get it working. Otherwise I will go through your guide, and might end up giving you a call.
    Best wishes, Peter
    Building a B737NG - Blog: BuildABoing