Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Link2FS Multi and Windows 8

    Hi,

    I am building the NAV/COM for my father. He has FSX on Windows 7 and LINK2FS works just fine.
    On my machine I have FSX an Windows 8 64 bit, when I try to start Link2FS Multi the app just crashes while loading.

    Can someone confirm link2fs Multi is not working on Windows 8 ?

    I tried to set compatability mode for the exe, run as adminitstrator. I enabled .NET 2 and 3 for windows 8 and .net 4.5 is installed by default.

    regards,

    Marco

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Link2FS Multi and Windows 8

    Now that's odd ,, another Guy said that in some other post while I was away in Aussie.

    I know the "Multi" will crash if it can't find an installed copy of FSX (This happens on any operating system)
    or there is no .Net framework 2 installed.

    Net framework 3.5 includes net framework 2 so you seem to have done all you need there.
    Have a look see at this in case you have missed something ,,,
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...VS.110%29.aspx

    If both of them are OK ,, I haven't a clue.
    If there was a problem I'm sure I would have heard before now but maybe something has changed.
    Firewall blocking ??
    Anti-virus blocking ???
    To crash on startup ,, it's not finding something that it's looking for to be able to run or something is blocking it's access to something else.
    What version of the Multi are we talking about ??? and have you tried an earlier version ???

    Cheers ,,, Jim
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  3. #3
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Link2FS Multi and Windows 8

    Hi Jim,

    I disabled UAC thru regedit (EnableLUA = 0). I know there is a bug that the windows gui doesn't really disable UAC. no firewall issues. in the eventlog (application) i get:

    ".NET Runtime version 2.0.50727.7905 - Fatal Execution Engine Error (73A51ED4) (80131506)"

    when i debug in Visual Studio I get :

    Unhandled exception at 0x75D12EEC (KernelBase.dll) in link2fs_multi_beta5g.exe: 0xE0434F4D (parameters: 0x80131509).

    I am using link2fs_multi_beta5g, and i don't have access to earlier versions. so I am not able to try them.

    ...Marco

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Link2FS Multi and Windows 8

    Mmmmm Maybe it don't work in Windows 8 but I'm surprised that it's taken so long for this to surface.

    I'll do some testing at the week-end on a friends computer and report.

    Cheers ,,, Jim
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Link2FS Multi and Windows 8

    The Missus let me use her laptop for this.

    Windows 8 /64 bit.
    I updated it with all the M$ updates to date.
    Loaded in FSX

    I had "Link2fs_Multi_ beta5g" (the current one) on a pendrive (USBdrive), and ran it from that.
    It ran fine.

    Sooooo, The "Multi" runs fine in Windows 8 /64 bit.

    Cheers ,,, Jim
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  6. #6
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Link2FS Multi and Windows 8

    Great news,

    Now I have to find out where my system is letting me down..... If I have some results I will post them here.

  7. #7
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Link2FS Multi and Windows 8

    Well I can confirm link2fs_multi working on Windows 8 64 bit. I installed FSX on my work laptop and everything is working as it should. On my home laptop however i do not seem to get it working. On a side note, on my home laptop I have Windows 8.1 64 bit, on my work laptop I have Windows 8 64 bit. this is the only difference.

    I will try to find out more, but I think i am hitting a dead end on my home laptop.

    regards,

    Marco

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Link2FS Multi and Windows 8

    OK Marco ,,, Understood.

    I done a lot of digging on this one (8.1) and M$ have done it again with that "update" ,,, a quick search on google shows it not a happy place when it comes to older software or hardware. I wont be putting it on Liz's laptop ,, I want to live. !!

    A couple of things jumped out ,,,,

    If FSX was installed before the 8.1 update ,, then uninstall FSX ,, reboot a couple of times to settle the change down.
    After you reboot it ,, if your comfortable with doing a registry "clean" then do one before you reinstall FSX.
    Install FSX, putting it into a folder by itself. (Not where windows wants to put it.)


    I think you've already done these ,,
    On the file FSX.exe
    Run FSX in compatibility mode for Windows 7 (or whatever).
    Maybe also Run as an administrator

    also do the same (as above) for the "Multi" exe.

    If you can't get it to work and no-one else pops into here with idea's then I may have a look at how my program is put together to see if it can be overcome that way.

    Good luck Marco ,,, Jim
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

  9. #9
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Link2FS Multi and Windows 8

    Hi Jim,

    Thanks for all your help. I did install FSX after the 8.1 installation, and I insalled FSX again in a different location (as to the default C:\Program Files (x86)\etc....). No resuls here

    I changed compatibility mode on all exe files and started them as admin. (even tried starting them in an elevated command prompt)
    No results either.

    So in the mean time I will develop on my buisiness laptop and maybe wait for a solution to come.....

    If you like me to test some more or debug something I will be happy to help

    regards,

    Marco

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job Jim NZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    764
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Link2FS Multi and Windows 8

    Thanks for that Marco ,,, we delve into the unknown on that one ,, that's for sure.

    With the "Multi" programs I make it into a "Stand alone" exe as I don't like "Install" programs for things like this.
    That way it doesn't mess with the computers settings at all.

    I did actually have a hard look at the way my program is put together and done some more research ,, at the end of the day I'm going to wait and see what happens. Just a bit early to jump into any change.

    Thanks again Marco ,,, Jim
    www.jimspage.co.nz/intro.htm
    All this and Liz still loves me ! !

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast