Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678
Results 71 to 79 of 79
  1. #71
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment led displays and my Radio Box

    Hi Fess,
    Thanks for your detailed reply. I have cleaned the pins, to no avail. I have also tried to power the Arduino from a separate 12V supply: no difference.
    Not giving up! Somehow, I doubt the module is dead. Will keep trying.

    Ph

  2. #72
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment led displays and my Radio Box

    welcome robomart india

  3. #73
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment led displays and my Radio Box

    Fess_ter, thank you so much for posting this, and for your code, which after hours of trawling the tinterweb I've settled for the most user_friendly. I'm new to arduino and coding, but I think I'll be able to try to use your coding to experiment and hopefully incorporate into my build.
    Cheers buddy
    Damo

  4. #74
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Evansville, Indiana
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment led displays and my Radio Box

    Damo78,
    I've learned a lot since doing that code.
    When I built my MCP, I renamed many of the variables for understanding.
    Here is a more current version with some different variable names and a little more explanation inside.

    ~Fess
    Attached Files Attached Files
    I will only ever be, half the Geek that I wished I was.
    TheGeekForge.Com

  5. #75
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment led displays and my Radio Box

    I am currently building my own radiostack, and I too chose these modules for the display. I didn't know about this thread and made all the same discoveries for myself

    Funny thing is that I saw some of the pictures during my data gathering interwebs searches!

    The reason I chose these module is how stackable they get, reducing the number of arduino pins needed.

    The library I used for the displays permit to select brightness. I assume it saves power troubles?

    When I am done with it I'll post pics. It is currently being delayed as I work on my yoke, so it might take some time.

  6. #76
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment led displays and my Radio Box

    Hi Fess_ter
    Many thanks for the update. It's still double-double dutch to me, but I'll get there. I like how you separated the outer and inner knobs via strings. The String command (if command is the right terminology) is new to me, so I'm to learn what strings are, when not made from cheese or twine.

  7. #77
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment led displays and my Radio Box

    THIS IS FOR FESS-TER AND JIM...

    Hi there i'd, i know this post is well and truly late in the game but i'v only just thought about putting a flight sim together, it'll only be a small one but but after many many hours of agonising search time spent getting nowhere, I FOUND THIS THREAD OF YOURS... WOW... WHAT A GEEZER...(TOP MAN). thank you so so much for not only your time and dedication but also that of Jim, it was a breath of fresh air after the many weeks of headache, to find such detailed help is actually out there. THANK YOU.

  8. #78
    150+ Forum Groupie


    BushPilotWannabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    205
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment led displays and my Radio Box

    Re. tomahwk66's post on page 5.
    The same can apply to all control lines for the Max7219, 74HC595 & 74HC165 shift registers. This does not apply to the serial input or output pins. The same pins of each similar chip can be connected together, then, run to the microprocessor output pin. Daisy chaining the modules is natural for the idiot shelf of a 737, but sometimes the chips of a project circle the Arduino board and it is functionally convenient to wire a spoke for each device. Again, the serial line input or output must pick up each chip in turn then on to the destination.

    Hugh
    ---CYXD ----- TWR --- GND ------ Closed
    ILS-- NDB -- 119.1 -- 121.9 ---- 11/2013

  9. #79
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    16
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 7 segment led displays and my Radio Box

    Max7219 won't display. I ran with Fess_ter's 7 segment display radio sketch. When uploaded, the rotary encoder inputs display via Arduino serial monitor, display in Fsx
    default aircraft via linksfs. However there is no display on the Max7219 module though correctly connected. What can be going wrong?

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678