Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Aviation Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    42
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    My proof of concept!

    The title made it sound like it's something amazing and it is (for me) but will probably bore most of you. After desperately trying I have finally managed to get toggle switches to work with Jim's Multi program. Break through for me!
    deGoiv4.jpg

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    232
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My proof of concept!

    Fantastic! For stability, I would recommend a pull-down resistor (10K ohm) from gnd to the input pin; this will prevent interference from causing the the pin to accidentally alternate between "HIGH" or "LOW" while the switch is in the open state. Furthermore, I would recommend a protection resistor from the input to the switch leg. The protection resistor should be equal or less than the pull-down resistor.

  3. Thanks samfranklin thanked for this post
    Likes samfranklin liked this post
  4. #3
    VMD


    Louie Mendez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Oaktown, California
    Posts
    212
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My proof of concept!

    Congratulation bro =)! I know how you are feeling. Keep going and don't stop!

  5. Thanks samfranklin thanked for this post
    Likes samfranklin liked this post
  6. #4
    Aviation Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    42
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My proof of concept!

    Quote Originally Posted by JMeller View Post
    Fantastic! For stability, I would recommend a pull-down resistor (10K ohm) from gnd to the input pin; this will prevent interference from causing the the pin to accidentally alternate between "HIGH" or "LOW" while the switch is in the open state. Furthermore, I would recommend a protection resistor from the input to the switch leg. The protection resistor should be equal or less than the pull-down resistor.
    So a resistor from GND to the input pin - could this be done on the bottom of the toggle switch?
    And then another resistor from the input pin to the leg on the toggle switch?


    Quote Originally Posted by Louie Mendez View Post
    Congratulation bro =)! I know how you are feeling. Keep going and don't stop!
    Thank you very much!

  7. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    232
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My proof of concept!

    Quote Originally Posted by samfranklin View Post
    So a resistor from GND to the input pin - could this be done on the bottom of the toggle switch?
    Yes, "permanently" connected onto the arduino from GND to pin.

    Quote Originally Posted by samfranklin View Post
    And then another resistor from the input pin to the leg on the toggle switch?
    Yes, in series with arduino input pin and the switch leg.

    After performing the above, you can remove the delay in your coding loop.

  8. #6
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    EVCA
    Posts
    62
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My proof of concept!

    Why not to use built-in pull-up? Just use HIGH state as OFF and vise-versa. And no external resistor required in that case.

  9. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    232
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: My proof of concept!

    Ah! I didn't know it could be controlled through coding. Thank you for the valuable tip!