Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Level-D 767 G-Throttle Switch Interfacing

    Hello everyone,

    I have recently received my 767 Throttle from Roberto and am looking to interface the switches on the quadrant to the LDS 767.

    Unfortunately I am unaware of how to interface the switches to the LDS 767 since they are connected to Windows as a joystick device; to my knowledge, they must therefore be interfaced through the FSX menus themselves or using the LDS custom controls menu.

    Herein lies the problem; the LDS 767 custom controls menu does not seem to recognise, for example, that the fuel cutoff switches are toggle switches; it will only accept an input when they are moved to the ON position. As a result, to turn the fuel cutoff switches on and then off again, one must move the switch forward, then back, then forward again (ie 2 "ON" inputs).

    Is there any other way to interface these switches? Perhaps use them to control a "dummy" function through FSUIPC and then use SIOC with Lekseecon to control the fuel cutoff switches when this "dummy" function is selected on? I'm lost here.

    Many thanks for your time,

    Jack

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Level-D 767 G-Throttle Switch Interfacing

    Hi Jack,
    Can't you go through the FSUIPC joystick button menu in stead of the FSX menu? There it is possible to generate the Custom control as well on push as on release of the button.

    However, you better cut the wires of these switches and feed them to inputs of a Mastercard. Then you have full control via SIOC and lekseecon.

    Regards,
    Nico

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Level-D 767 G-Throttle Switch Interfacing

    Hi Nico,

    I have tried using FSUIPC to interface the switches but I can't seem to find a suitable control to assign it to; Roberto suggested using mixture rich/lean but these seem to have no function in the LDS 767. If possible I would rather not cut the wires since it would be a quite a messy job!

    I also tried using a mouse macro but of course this only works one way too; I can't seem to get the switches to recognise both ON and OFF. Are you aware of another interfacing method that I am not aware of?

    Many thanks,

    Jack

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Level-D 767 G-Throttle Switch Interfacing

    Hi Jack,
    Well its only two wires, can't be too difficult.

    But okay, try this:
    Select an unused FSUIPC offset (a BYTE), take for instance 0x8B00
    Use the button tab of FSUIPC and upon press aan release of the cutoff-switch you define the BYTE TOGGLE function of FSUIPC upon offset 0x8B00.
    Do the same for the other cut-off switch for offset 0x8B01.

    In SIOC you write:
    Code:
    Var 9000 link FSUIPC_IN Offset $8B00 Length 1
    {
       v505 = v9000
    }
    
    Var 9001 link FSUIPC_IN Offset $8B01 Length 1
    {
       v506 = v9001
    }
    
    Var 505 Static  // lekseecon left fuel cut-off run
    Var 506 Static  //  lekseecon right ,,
    Don't forget to enable FSUIPC in sioc.ini
    Regards,
    Nico

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Level-D 767 G-Throttle Switch Interfacing

    Hi Nico,

    I assume you mean assign this through the "FSUIPC custom controls" option in the buttons/switches tab?

    Unfortunately when I enter 0x8B00 all I get is an error tone and it does not seem to accept this particular offset. Any ideas?

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Level-D 767 G-Throttle Switch Interfacing

    Hi Jack,
    I'm at work now.. (without access to FSUIPC ). Don't know exactly how it is called, I guess FSControl, there you'll find a lot of byte/word manipulating functions. It should accept address 8B00 but you should find out how to enter a hexadecimal number (presumably not via 0x).

    Nico

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Level-D 767 G-Throttle Switch Interfacing

    Hi Nico,

    Had a few attempts at entering 8B00 but it doesn't seem to be working (I am using the "custom control" option on the buttons/switches tab of FSUIPC). When you get back, if you could check this out on FSUIPC that would be fantastic; if you have the time of course!

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Level-D 767 G-Throttle Switch Interfacing

    Jack,
    Don't know what's going wrong at your site, but I have no problems entering the data... Here's a screenshot:
    Attachment 8206

    Regards,
    Nico

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Level-D 767 G-Throttle Switch Interfacing

    Hi Nico,

    Could you reupload that screenshot? It doesn't seem to be working here.

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Level-D 767 G-Throttle Switch Interfacing

    Quote Originally Posted by Boeing 747 Flyer View Post
    It doesn't seem to be working here.
    What's going on in the UK Jack? Censorship?
    Here a link to the picture at my site.

    Nico

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast