Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    Aviation Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    42
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Turning switches off

    Hi!

    Sorry to keep asking so many questions - I'm an arduino noob

    I tried what you suggested but the serial monitor still shows that it is sending repeated C02/C01 lines.

    int val = 0;int inputPin = 2;
    int valOld = 0;


    void setup()
    {
    pinMode(inputPin, INPUT);
    Serial.begin(9600);
    digitalWrite(inputPin, HIGH);
    }


    void loop() {
    val = digitalRead(inputPin);
    if (val != valOld); {
    if (val == HIGH) { Serial.println("C02"); } else { Serial.println("C01"); };
    valOld = val;
    }
    }


  2. #12
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    233
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Turning switches off

    That's ok. I encourage it because we all had to start somewhere.

    Usually when I have difficulty, I serialPrint the variables for troubleshooting; similar to how you are using C01/C02.
    Serial.println("val");
    Serial.println("valOld")
    delay(750);

  3. #13
    Aviation Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    42
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Turning switches off

    I did it!

    For some reason it wouldn't work as just an 'if' statement so I changed it to an 'if{}else' statement and it worked.

    For anybody that may be experiencing similar problems:
    int val = 0;int inputPin = 2;
    int valOld = 0;


    void setup()
    {
    pinMode(inputPin, INPUT);
    Serial.begin(9600);
    digitalWrite(inputPin, HIGH);
    }


    void loop() {
    val = digitalRead(inputPin);

    if (val == valOld) {
    } else {
    if (val == HIGH) { Serial.println("C02"); } else { Serial.println("C01"); };
    valOld = val;
    }
    delay(500);
    }

    Edit: I added a delay as without it any rapid switch changes caused problems.
    Last edited by samfranklin; 10-20-2013 at 10:52 AM. Reason: Edit in coding

  4. #14
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    233
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Turning switches off

    Awesome. It is strange you had to use an else statement to make it work.
    Code:
    int val = 0;int inputPin = 2;
    int valOld = 0;
    
    
    void setup()
    {
    pinMode(inputPin, INPUT);
    Serial.begin(9600);
    digitalWrite(inputPin, HIGH);
    }
    
    void loop() {
    val = digitalRead(inputPin);
    
    if (val != valOld) {
    if (val == HIGH) { Serial.println("C02"); } else { Serial.println("C01"); };
    
    }
    valOld = val;  //moved outside of if/then statement
    delay(500);
    }
    As for the rapid switch changes causing problems: Are you using a 10K pull-down resistor when the switch is in the off/open position? I also assume you are using a ~10K pull-up for the on/closed position of the switch.

  5. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Chandigarh India
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Turning switches off

    Hi,
    I am new to arduino and Link2Fs, The above code is for a single switch, Could anyone please help me with the code if i wanted to have multiple switches.
    Thanks,

  6. #16
    150+ Forum Groupie


    BushPilotWannabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    191
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Turning switches off

    Welcome. Happy to see some beginner Arduino, Link2FS activity.

    EDIT

    My apologies to karen_maverick. My original post has been expanded and moved into a new thead. http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...105#post171105
    ---CYXD ----- TWR --- GND ------ Closed
    ILS-- NDB -- 119.1 -- 121.9 ---- 11/2013

  7. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Chandigarh India
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Turning switches off

    Thanks for the quick reply.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12