Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Unrealistic engine start

    Does anyone have a solution for the unrealistic engine startup (jet) as displayed in Fs9. As you know when the engine lights off, the N1 and N2 surge off the clock when in reality they should just slowly accelerate to there ground idle values.

    Definitley not as 'real as it gets'

    Is there a fix for this??

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Unrealistic engine start

    I would like to also know the answer. Even FSX seems to have that problem.
    Home of the world's first South American DC-8 jetliner.
    Home of the Blue Angel F-4 Phantom simulator.

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Unrealistic engine start

    Rick Piper's HS748, although it's a turboprop, seems to have overcome the surge limitation. You could try looking through its files. The XML is lengthy in the gauges though.

    EDIT: I am using FSX, the surge problem may still exist in the FS9 version. You'll have to test it out.

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Unrealistic engine start

    Avro748...are u saying that the surge problem is not evident in FSX? I will also check out his files ...thx.

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Unrealistic engine start

    To be honest, I'm not sure if the surge problem exists or not. I haven't flown default birds in a long time.

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Unrealistic engine start

    The default FSX 737 does indeed surge and I would also like to know how to fix it.

    Regards,
    justin
    Home of the world's first South American DC-8 jetliner.
    Home of the Blue Angel F-4 Phantom simulator.

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    KFLL
    Posts
    57
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Unrealistic engine start

    I, too, am slightly frustrated at this unrealistic surging. Ageeing 100% with Mach7, upon light off, the EPR/N1/N2 and EGT gradually increase to idle levels.
    I'm also interested in finding a solution to this annoyance.

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Unrealistic engine start

    I found out how the Tinmouse and HS748 bypass it. The engines still start up incorrectly, but the gauges have been programmed to go through a pre-scripted motion when the engines are started, giving the illusion of a correctly timed start. I figured it out when I found out that Simcheck did that with their A300, then I did some in sim tests with the Tinmouse.

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Unrealistic engine start

    UPDATE:

    After 2 years of searching, I believe I have found the answer. The AIR table for engine start timing has finally been identified:
    http://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/thr...nition.435209/

    Microsoft may have been frugal with flight dynamics documentation, but ten years of digging by developers has found what we needed.

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Unrealistic engine start

    Outstanding!! I cant wait to try it!
    Home of the world's first South American DC-8 jetliner.
    Home of the Blue Angel F-4 Phantom simulator.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast