Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Can't get 2nd Iocards USB Expansion Card to communicate with IOCP Console or FSX

    I'm using a 2nd Expansion Card with 4 Master Cards for my Home built 747 Overhead Panel. The #1 Expansion Card (Device = 23) is controling my MCP, Radios, etc. and most of that is working fine. However, my #2 Expansion Card(Device = 25) with 4 MasterCards isn't communicating with the IOCP Console or FSX. My Overhead switches are operating in the SIOC Monitor and the IOCP Console lists the switches I have configured in my SIOC script, I'm connected and Logged on but the log doesn't show anything when I push a switch, Ex.:

    Var 0500, name Batt1, Link FSUIPC_OUT, Offset $5628, Length 2, Value 0

    Var 0501, Link IOCARD_SW, Device 25, Input 71, Type I // Battery PB
    {
    IF V0501 = 1
    {
    &Batt1 = 1
    }
    ELSE
    {
    &Batt1 = 0
    }
    }

    Am I maybe missing an entry in my config file?

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Can't get 2nd Iocards USB Expansion Card to communicate with IOCP Console or FSX

    Hello Jerry

    You should read up on how Device Numbering / Index works:

    How to program in SIOC, many basic examples

    http://www.opencockpits.com/uploads/...20tutorial.pdf
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Can't get 2nd Iocards USB Expansion Card to communicate with IOCP Console or FSX

    I've read these articles before, I guess I could have missed something. I'm not using any OC Modules, all my panels are home built. The entries in my sioc.cfg file are: MASTER=0,4,3,23
    MASTER=1,4,3,25

    Everything is working on my first USB Expansion Card, Device 23, with 3 Mastercards. On the 2nd Card, Device 25, with 3 Mastercards, the inputs work on the Sioc Monitor but not on the Sioc Console or on my PMsystems Overhead. I haven't nearly finished my script for the overhead. I'm just trying to make sure its working first. Not sure what I'm missing here.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Can't get 2nd Iocards USB Expansion Card to communicate with IOCP Console or FSX

    Hi,
    Quote Originally Posted by Jerrymc3 View Post
    Var 0501, Link IOCARD_SW, Device 25, Input 71, Type I // Battery PB
    What do you mean with Device 25? It should be either 0 or 1.....and in your case probably 1...
    Please study this carefully.

    regards,
    Nico

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Can't get 2nd Iocards USB Expansion Card to communicate with IOCP Console or FSX

    That's where my misunderstanding was! Device = 25 is the number my computer assigns to the USB Port my Expansion Card is plugged in to. Its listed under Devices on the SIOC Window as IDX=1 - IOCardUSB - Device = 25. That's the Device number I thought I was supposed to use. Changed it to Device = 1 and its working now. Thanks!

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Can't get 2nd Iocards USB Expansion Card to communicate with IOCP Console or FSX

    Note that there is a difference between 'logical' DEVICE numbers used in SIOC scripts and 'physical' DEVICE numbers used in sioc.ini. You link the two in sioc.ini. If you would plug your card into another USB port you would get a new physical DEVICE number. Then you only have to update one line in your sioc.ini and not all your SIOC scripts...

    Nico

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    194
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Can't get 2nd Iocards USB Expansion Card to communicate with IOCP Console or FSX

    Thanks Nico, it all makes sense now.