Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Member razie1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    wolverhampton
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Trim wheel - rotary encoder or multiturn pot

    Hi all

    At the moment I'm using a standard pot for my Trim wheel,
    this doesn't give me much wheel movement or the precision

    So im going to upgrade, but need your opinion on whether to
    use a multi-turn pot (10T) or a rotary encoder for my trim wheel.



    Many thanks,
    Mike.

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie



    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    175
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Trim wheel - rotary encoder or multiturn pot

    Hi Mike,

    not sure about the ones you mentioned. Perhaps others can jump in. I used pulse switches for my trim wheels. They work great.

  3. #3
    New Member razie1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    wolverhampton
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Trim wheel - rotary encoder or multiturn pot

    Are pulse switches just standard momentary push buttons ?

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Trim wheel - rotary encoder or multiturn pot

    Hi Mike,

    I am sure that rotary encoders are what is being referred to here and as long as you have a method to interface such as a Pokeys Card for instance, then it would be good.

    Kind Regards

    Bernie.
    E8400 @ 3.0GHz, DDR2 Ram 800MHz 4Gb, Vista Home Premium 64Bit, MSI 9800GT @ 512Mb, Philips 22" LCD Widescreen, Cockpit Setup X 5 using Wideview and Widetraffic.

  5. #5
    New Member razie1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    wolverhampton
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Trim wheel - rotary encoder or multiturn pot

    Thanks Bernie for clearing that up for me.

    I may have a homemade Arduino lying around somewhere that i can use.
    if not i will build another one.

    I will use that with link2fs because Jim has added code for accelerated encoders. Which will be a great help as it would take forever to trim the plane without it

    Mike.

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Trim wheel - rotary encoder or multiturn pot

    I use a 10 turn pot. Works great and allows for very fine adjustment.
    http://juneaucessnasim.blogspot.com
    N58243 (virtual)- Low and Slow...

  7. #7
    New Member razie1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    wolverhampton
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Trim wheel - rotary encoder or multiturn pot

    I will order a 10 t pot from eBay and try it out
    hopefully there is a UK seller, else i will have to wait a month to receive it.