Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: GPS Software

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member


    KEEPERCDN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    45
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    GPS Software

    Hi All

    I am working on my GA GPS panel
    400599_10152742080130580_936023518_n.jpg
    389165_10152742080010580_1704994310_n.jpg
    and I was wondering if anyone knows of an external GPS Software like http://www.peixsoft.com for avionics?

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: GPS Software

    I used Simavio, its Xplaneonly though, but still great.

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member


    KEEPERCDN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    45
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: GPS Software

    Thanks for your reply ya I am using FSX and soon Prepar 3D

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    28
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: GPS Software

    Have you had a look at PLAN-G?
    TASoftware - Plan-G flight planning software

    Its not exactly the garmin style GPS you are use to. But its a moving map and provides all the data you will need throughout your flight. It also shows AI traffic on the map in real time among many other features.
    And its free, so you have nothing to lose.

    If any one else here knows of a garmin style GPS program for FSX/P3D I'd be interested in it myself, as I am not aware of any.

    SimAviator13

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member


    KEEPERCDN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    45
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: GPS Software

    Hi Simaviator 13

    What avionics software are you using for your cockpit?

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    28
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: GPS Software

    I make custom gauge panels specific to every aircraft in my library. I add these panels to the aircraft so that I can bring up the panel via the view menu. Please see this post that explains my setup in a bit more detail:
    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/welc...tml#post139721

    I use FS Panel Studio to create the panels, its not really that complicated but is very time consuming. And often times you have to either make your own gauge or pull one from another aircraft in your library. But in the end the results are awesome.

    FS Panel Studio is not free, however if this is something you consider getting into, I'd be happy to offer guidance.

    Thanks
    SimAviator13

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member


    KEEPERCDN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    45
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: GPS Software

    SimAviator13 can I ask were did you get your 10" monitor ?


  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    28
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: GPS Software

    Sure,

    Its actually a car monitor to be mounted in a dash or a head rest LOL. I get a good amount of electronics from amazon these days, and thats where I scored this screen.
    Amazon.com: PYLE PLVW10IW 10.4-Inch In-Wall Mount TFT LCD Flat Panel Monitor w/VGA Input: Car Electronics

    Be warned, it does not come with a power cord, just bare wire. It runs on 12VDC, So you'll either need AC to DC power inverter, or make your own cable from an old power 12V power adapter.

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member


    KEEPERCDN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    45
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site


  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: GPS Software

    Theres always realityxp, but you will have to undock the window off fsx.