Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: V1 Avionics

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    V1 Avionics

    Doe anyone have any information on this incredible product? I would be interested to know if it is on the market yet...and if it is compatible with FS9...as they only seem to refer to FSX and Xplane.

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,049
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: V1 Avionics

    Wow, thanks for the heads up. I'll be tracking this project. Glad it succeeded on kickstarter.

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: V1 Avionics

    OmniAtlas....yes....kickstarter...i am not sure what that it is but I am assuming it is a site where one can donate funds to get a project off the ground (?).

    Regardless...Avro send me a message on this and I checked them out. I have been waiting for something like this for a very long time!

    As far as I can tell, no modifications would have to be done to the instrument, you would just have to connect the correct pins up to the interface unit and supply a power source to the instrument!

    I could hardly sleep last nite thinking about this as I have all of the instruments and was on my way to modifying them until I shelved the product do to a lack of technology (on my par)t and went to 15inch computer screens behind instrument panel cutouts.

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,049
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: V1 Avionics

    Yes, it was initially a kickstarter project (its a website for interested parties to finance the project)

    They have a website -- V1 Avionics, Inc. | Exploring new concepts in avionics engineering.

    Looks very complicated to me but I don't have any experience with wiring or electrical engineering.
    Perhaps someday there will be an FAQ for a simple hookup and how to program your devices.

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: V1 Avionics

    OmniAtlas...from what I understand, this interface is made for people who have little or limited electrical experience....lets face it...if you are building your own simulator...you must have some simple basics.

    This interface...from what I understand...allows you to connect a Arinc429 compatible instrument...such as an ADI or HSI without taking the instrument apart or having to modify it.

    Also...the programming language would also be provided depending on what you want to install.

    You would however have to supply a power source to the instrument...and this might be the biggest hurtle!

    Hopefully this will be compatible with Fs9 as I do not relish the idea of having to re-install everything all over again

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,049
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: V1 Avionics

    Yes, it would be great to give it a go and plug in real avionic parts and see it whirl to life when this product matures....but, simulated parts from flightillusion are almost similar in priced to 2nd hand products!

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie mach7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    172
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: V1 Avionics

    OmniAtlas.....yes...your statement is true about cost, but not about reality. These second hand avionics...or 'as removed' condition are chocked full of expensive avionics and designed to last years and years. An ADI alone, that once had a huge price tag of 40k can now be picked up by a simmer for 200 to 400 dollars in some cases. Still operational, and still good to go. The price is only reduced because nobody uses them anymore, or they could not be bothered to pay for a serviceable slip from a repair shop.

    Once installed and operational, the price difference will be a mute point.

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,049
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: V1 Avionics

    I agree with you in that respect, these real parts are made to last!

    however, certain parts may not work even with an interface,

    for example, an ADF guage with a moving card - isn't that dependent on the gyroscopes on the device or the plane itself?

    i have contacted the author, perhaps ill buy some parts off eBay soon!

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    2,049
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: V1 Avionics

    Looks like they've made some progress --

    The gin and tonic milestones: DM9000 working!

    The gin and tonic milestones: DM9000 working! | V1 Avionics, Inc.