Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    PFC PCATD for FSX

    Okay so i had these controls for a while now and simply cant get it to work. Ive downloaded drivers, P Dowsons drivers. I have contacted PFC and all they said was that the product isn't supported anymore by them. Makes sense since it is quite old.

    I am aware of Leo Bodnars cards but before that i would like to make it work. I the console connected to usb converter.

    Please help me!!!!

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Graham, WA
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PFC PCATD for FSX

    Have you given any thought to replacing the PFC electronics with your own hardware?

    g.

  3. #3
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PFC PCATD for FSX

    Depends on what you mean by my own hardware.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PFC PCATD for FSX

    Hi, what kind of pc oc are you using.
    Older controls only work with 32 bit systems,
    In my case I have older instruments and interface from simkits , that will work on a 32 bit os and not on 64.
    Therefore I using an old systeem xp 32 this linked to my FSX pc running on Win7 64.
    greetz

  5. #5
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PFC PCATD for FSX

    Im using Win 7 ultimate x64. So what can i do???

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PFC PCATD for FSX

    Here's what you should do:
    Open the device and try and find the Potentiometers and/or other inputs. follow the wires out of them to the hardware board. remove the board, and replace it with a Bodnar Board. If you aren't worried about potentiometers, then you can use a BBI 32.

  7. #7
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PFC PCATD for FSX

    Hi thank you

    I will get one of his boards i guess. All i want to know is regarding the Leo boards is that besides the knobs and switches, how do connect the axis to the board? Or like you said do follow the wires from the potentiometers... and sorry for being stupid, but what is the potentiometers? Are they the "axis" on the inside of the controls?

    Thanks again

    PS what leo board should work???

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PFC PCATD for FSX

    Quote Originally Posted by nreben View Post
    Hi thank you

    I will get one of his boards i guess. All i want to know is regarding the Leo boards is that besides the knobs and switches, how do connect the axis to the board? Or like you said do follow the wires from the potentiometers... and sorry for being stupid, but what is the potentiometers? Are they the "axis" on the inside of the controls?

    Thanks again

    PS what leo board should work???
    Don't worry, we all have our skills. I am a noob at woodworking and carpentry. Yes potentiometers are the Axis. In terms of Bodnar Boards, Either you can do switches and encoders only, or you'll have to go with the expensive BUO836X board. It's the simplest of the BUO836 series, and the most risk free. There are cheaper options, but most of them will require soldering, which is a pain to remove if you make a mistake.

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict Avro748's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    At the Controls
    Posts
    359
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PFC PCATD for FSX

    Also, to connect the potentiometers to the board, you simply solder three wires into the Potentiometer, then slip the wires in the correct order on the board. The order can vary potentiometer to potentiometer, but finding the right terminals should be no problem, as they are clearly labeled.

  10. #10
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PFC PCATD for FSX

    Quote Originally Posted by Avro748 View Post
    Either you can do switches and encoders only, or you'll have to go with the expensive BUO836X board. It's the simplest of the BUO836 series, and the most risk free. There are cheaper options, but most of them will require soldering, which is a pain to remove if you make a mistake.

    I see that the BUO836A card can take pots. But obviousoy you need to solder the wires to it. Can i connected my wires to the card with clip on type of connector like you find on car speakers. The reason im leaning towards the BU0836A is just cause its cheaper.

    Thanks again

    i see some light ahead

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast