Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    BOEING 737 - DISPLAY PROBLEMS!

    Hi Everybody.

    I am just entering the world of 737ng, and I am trying to plan the monitor positioning. Given that a typical DU (display unit) on a real 737 is 8inches square, even the smaller shop bought monitors are nearly twice this size! As a result, part of the monitor has to be hidden by the overall facia panel that will have 8inch square DU size panels cut out of it at strategic positions to line up with the monitors.

    The monitors due to their physical size, will extend beyond the DU size cut outs, and prevent any switches etc being fitted directly over the hidden part of the monitor.

    Above the EIS DU, there are switches including the "Anti Skid" switch, the workings of which will need to protrude beneath the facia panel but the hidden part of the central monitor is directly underneath this spot!! Either this switch and others in similar positions will have to be fitted entirely on the surface (terrible), or I will have to find some VERY small monitors (not easy) - or fit the switches in the wrong place!

    How do you get round this problem folks??
    I am truly stuck at the moment!

    Thanks.

    TONY Plymouth UK

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BOEING 737 - DISPLAY PROBLEMS!

    Tony

    I use the two standby instrument Boeing option of IFSD and RMI gauges. This leaves the top MIP gauge cut out empty ( just use a blanking plate). A 4x3 aspect ratio 15 inch screen will then fit and allow you to use the N1, Speed ref and Autobrake switches. This assumes that your avionics software can display the ISFD gauge.

    David

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    israel
    Posts
    35
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BOEING 737 - DISPLAY PROBLEMS!

    Hi Tony,I read somewhere and for the life of me can't remember where ,that it's possible ,if you can get your hands on one or a pair of old ps2 game pads ,you can disassemble the screen and rewire it to be used as a cdu.The article also gave full instructions on how to accomplish this.Google around if you might consider this route.John

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BOEING 737 - DISPLAY PROBLEMS!

    If it is the psone screen that you are suggesting, then sadly it has a large round pcb which provides the video signal. It is only possible to use them for one, possibly two gauges (not the middle one) as there is insufficient room, unless you could source a longer plastic multi connector ribbon to reposition the pcb.

    David

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict


    tiburon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    353
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BOEING 737 - DISPLAY PROBLEMS!

    If you use a 15" for your upper eicas and let it protrude below the rim of your mip your cdu bay would cover the protrusion. Use real gauges for the flaps and stand-by instruments. And I believe a 19" widescreen monitor will perfectly fit the PFD and ND

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    CUPAR FIFE SCOTLAND NEAR ST ANDREWS
    Posts
    163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: BOEING 737 - DISPLAY PROBLEMS!

    Hi
    This is what I use and it fits perfectly without
    protruding out the bottom
    an 18.5 inch acer monitor for L/h and r/h side
    And for the middle a 10.4 inch monitor I also use real
    guages for the eicas hope -this helps
    regards
    dave