10+ Posting Member
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

PICs and Link2FS

Greetings Jim from a Brit who appreciates you Kiwis. I know it's not quite an Arduino but I've only just got into programming PIC chips after using them to make lighting mods for my Xbox. It was only when I was looking at the sad state of progress on my ATR72 sim (reason I like Kiwis is that my panels were made by Ruscool in Christchurch) that I realised "Hey, these things could help me on my ATR build".

So I started to look into the feasability of it... THEN I find that FSUIPC refuses to register so that I can't program an interface in VB6. Looked around for many hours for a way around it to no avail. Tried looking for a morphine addled dummies guide (yeah, I used to be a programmer but morphine is worse than booze for killing brain cells it seems) and failed dismally.

THEN I FOUND Link2FS.

I see light at the end of the tunnel. If I'm right, Jim, your little program will let me send and receive com freqs via an MCP2210 (which is in fact a PIC18F14K50 with firmware already flashed in for USB) . So I am hoping I will be able to use it to link my hardware radios to FSX.

So thanks for saving me some time before I even work on this side of my sim.

10+ Posting Member

Re: PICs and Link2FS

I mean to ask Jim, do you send data back to your program by sending the same message back....

For example would you send this to the PC...

d123.800,e127.175,crlf
    d123.900,e127.175,crlf
    d124.000,e127.175,crlf
    d124.100,e127.175,crlf

... if you were turning the radio rotary encoder on the hardware display? Oh and what is to stop the refresh on the PC from overriding the remote hardware setting (I'm going to add a direction arrow to show which line it is on)

Hardware Radio <> PC (bold line are the instance that Link2FS sends a refresh out)

d123.800,e127.175,crlf >